Obama to meet with Apple CEO Jobs on Thursday

WASHINGTON Thu Oct 21, 2010 11:21pm BST

Related Topics

Quotes

   

WASHINGTON Oct 21 (Reuters) - U.S. President Barack Obama is having a 45-minute meeting on Thursday afternoon in San Francisco with Apple Inc (AAPL.O) Chief Executive Steve Jobs, White House spokesman Robert Gibbs said.

The meeting will be at 3:30 p.m. PDT (1830 EDT/2230 GMT), Gibbs told reporters traveling on Air Force One from Seattle to San Francisco.

It is "a meeting the president was interested in having," Gibbs said. "I think they last met ... along the trail in the 2008 campaign."

Gibbs said the two would talk about a variety of issues and he expected the White House would issue a statement on the meeting after it took place.

"He's eager to talk to him about the economy, innovation and technology, education," Gibbs said.

Obama is on a four-day trip through western U.S. states seeking to bolster Democratic candidates before the Nov. 2 mid-term elections, in which his party is expected to lose many seats in the U.S. Congress and governors' mansions. (Reporting by Patricia Zengerle, editing by Doina Chiacu)

FILED UNDER: