June 11, 2017 / 1:31 AM / 2 months ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 on Sunday, June 11

7 Min Read

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Sunday:

Tennis

French Open

Nadal bids for La Decima

Rafael Nadal will have to overcome Swiss third seed Stan Wawrinka, who has never lost any of his three previous grand slam finals, in the Roland Garros title decider if he is to become the first man to win the same major 10 times. (TENNIS-FRENCHOPEN/(PIX), expect first copy by 1500 GMT/11 AM ET, by Martyn Herman and Julien Pretot, 600 words)

Soccer

World Cup Qualifiers

Europe

Group D

Moldova v Georgia (1600)

Ireland v Austria (1600)

Serbia v Wales (1845)

BELGRADE - Group leaders Serbia take on Wales in a vital World Cup qualifier, with both teams hard-pressed to win and stay on course for the 2018 tournament in Russia. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-SRB-WAL/ (PIX), expect by 2030 GMT/4:30 PM ET, 400 words)

DUBLIN - Austria, four behind leading pair Croatia and Ireland in Group D, need a win to keep their World Cup qualifying hopes alive when they visit the Irish, who won the previous encounter 1-0 in Vienna. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-IRL-AUT/ (PIX), expect by 1745 GMT/1:45 PM ET, 400 words)

Group G

Macedonia v Spain (1845)

Israel v Albania (1845)

Italy v Liechtenstein (1845)

Spain and Italy in tight battle for Group G supremacy

Italy, level on points with Group G leaders Spain but well behind on goal difference, need to pile on the goals against minnows Liechtenstein in their World Cup qualifier. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-ITA-LIE/ (PIX), expect by 2030 GMT/4:30 PM ET, 400 words)

Spain will aim to preserve top spot when they take on Macedonia in their World Cup qualifier. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-MKD-ESP/ (PIX), expect by 2030 GMT/4:30 PM ET, 400 words)

Group I

Finland v Ukraine (1600)

Iceland v Croatia (1845)

Kosovo v Turkey (1845)

REYKJAVIK - Iceland will pull level on points with Group I leaders Croatia if they can beat them in Sunday's World Cup qualifier. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-ICE-CRO/ (PIX), expect by 2030 GMT/4:30 PM ET, 400 words)

North, Central America and Caribbean

Group leaders Mexico take on U.S. at altitude

MEXICO CITY - Group leaders Mexico take on their arch-rival United States at the Aztec Stadium. Bruce Arena's U.S. team will hope to continue their three-match unbeaten run at a ground where they have never won. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-MEX-USA/, expect by 0330 GMT / 11:30 PM ET, by Andrew Downie, 300 words)

African Nations Cup qualifiers

Group D

Algeria v Togo, Blida (2100)

Benin v Gambia, Cotonou (1500)

Group F

Ghana v Ethiopia, Kumasi (1530)

Group G

Zimbabwe v Liberia, Harare (1300)

Group H

Central African Republic v Rwanda, Bangui (1400)

Group J

Tunisia v Egypt, Tunis (2200)

Top four finishers begin 2019 campaign

CAPE TOWN – Egypt and Ghana, who both reached the last four at the finals in Gabon at the start of the year, begin their 2019 qualifying campaign on Sunday. Ghana are home to Ethiopia while Egypt have a tough away game in prospect against Tunisia. (SOCCER-AFRICA-NATIONS/WRAP1, expect 2200 GMT /6 PM ET, by Mark Gleeson, 400 words)

Nhl

Stanley Cup Final

Penguins bid to wrap up repeat title

The Pittsburgh Penguins, ahead of the Nashville Predators 3-2 in the best of seven series, seek to clinch a second consecutive Cup in Game Six at Nashville. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL-STANLEYCUP/, expect first copy by 0345 GMT/11:45 PM ET, 400 words)

Golf

PGA Tour: St. Jude Classic, Memphis, Tennessee (to 11)

Cabrera Bello, Cink, Crane head crowded leaderboard

Spaniard Rafa Cabrera Bello and Americans Stewart Cink and Ben Crane lead at nine-under 201 heading into the final round at TPC Southwind, where five others are within two strokes. (GOLF-STJUDE/, expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, 40 words)

LPGA: Manulife Classic, Cambridge, Ontario (to 11)

Thompson leads in Canada

Lexi Thompson has a one-shot lead over fellow American Lindy Duncan at starting the final round at Whistle Bear Golf Club in Ontario. (GOLF-WOMEN/, expect by 2000 GMT/8 PM ET, 250 words)

u.s. Open

Johnson a nominal favourite at U.S. Open

Dustin Johnson is a lukewarm favourite for this week’s U.S. Open, but the more level playing field in the post-Tiger Woods era and a new venue only adds to the uncertainty over who will lift the trophy next Sunday. (GOLF-USOPEN/ (PREVIEW, PIX), expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, by Andrew Both, 450 words)

See Also

Officials confident of smooth rulings process at U.S. Open. (GOLF-USOPEN/RULES, by Larry Fine, 700 words)

To play or not to play, athletes must balance career and family. (GOLF-USOPEN/MICKELSON, by Jahmal Corner, 400 words)

Social media provides insight into life of some players, others not so much. (GOLF-USOPEN/SOCIALMEDIA (PIX), by Rory Carroll, 500 words)

Erin Hills and unlikely place for first U.S Open in Wisconsin. (GOLF-USOPEN/ERINHILLS (PIX), by Andrew Both, 400 words)

U.S. Open facts and figures. (GOLF-USOPEN/ (FACTBOX), 600 words)

Cricket

Champions Trophy

India v South Africa

LONDON - Holders India take on South Africa in their final Group B match, with the winner of the match going through to the semi-finals. (CRICKET-CHAMPIONSTROPHY-IND-ZAF/ (PIX), expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, by Ed Osmond, 400 words.

Motor Racing

Canadian Grand Prix

MONTREAL - Triple world champion Lewis Hamilton starts on pole position for Mercedes after matching the career tally of 65 achieved by his late Brazilian hero Ayrton Senna. Formula One championship leader Sebastian Vettel starts alongside for Ferrari. (MOTOR-F1-CANADA/(PIX), expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, by Steve Keating, 400 words)

MotoGP

Grand Prix of Catalunya

BARCELONA - Honda's Dani Pedrosa will start his home Grand Prix of Catalunya from pole position with Yamaha's MotoGP leader Maverick Vinales only ninth on the starting grid after Saturday's qualifying. Vinales holds a 26-point lead over Andrea Dovizioso after six races. (MOTOR-MOTOGP-CATALUNYA/ (TV), expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, 300 words)

Rugby

British & Irish Lions tour of New Zealand

A relieved Warren Gatland will name his side to face the Otago Highlanders in the fourth match of their tour (RUGBY-UNION-LIONS/, expect by 0615 GMT/2:15 AM ET, 400 words)

Cycling

Criterium du Dauphine

Australian Richie Porte will be looking to hold on to the overall lead in the eighth and final stage of the Criterium du Dauphine, a 115-kilometre route from Albertville to Plateau de Solaison. (CYCLING-DAUPHINE/ (TV), expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, 300 words)

Baseball

Surging Rockies try to make it eighth win in row

The Colorado Rockies, who have surged to the top of the National League West, put a seven-game winning streak on the line when they visit the Chicago Cubs in one of 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words)

North American Sports

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (Expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

Asia Desk Editor: Ian Ransom

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below