January 10, 2017 / 2:12 PM / in 7 months

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday, Jan 12

3 Min Read

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday (times GMT):

Soccer

Premier League

We bring you the latest news ahead of this weekend's fixtures which include the clash between arch rivals Manchester United against Liverpool at Old Trafford on Sunday. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-CLUB/ expect throughout, 300 words)

Golf

European Tour: South African Open, Johannesburg (to Jan 15)

McIlroy headlines cast at SA Open

JOHANNESBURG - World number two Rory McIlroy headlines a field which also includes Nick Faldo and Ernie Els at the European Tour's South African Open that starts at the Glendower Golf Club in Johannesburg. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, expect by 1600 GMT/11 AM ET, 300 words)

Tennis

ATP/WTA: Sydney International (to 14)

Bouchard faces Konta, Radwanska meets Strycova

SYDNEY - Former Wimbledon finalist Eugenie Bouchard will face Sydney-born British number one Johanna Konta, while second seed Agnieszka Radwanska takes on unseeded Czech veteran Barbora Strycova on semi-finals day in Sydney. TENNIS-WOMEN/SYDNEY, expect by 1100 GMT/6 AM ET, 400 words)

ATP: Auckland Classic

WTA: Hobart International

On merit

Cricket

New Zealand v Bangladesh, 1st test

Bangladesh hold advantage after weather-affected first day

WELLINGTON - Persistent rain and bad light affected much of the opening day's play of the first test between New Zealand and Bangladesh with the visitors handily placed on 154 for three after being asked to bat on a green Basin Reserve wicket. (CRICKET-NEWZEALAND/, moved, 400 words)

South Africa v Sri Lanka, third test, first day (to Jan 16)

South Africa seek clean sweep

JOHANNESBURG - South Africa are looking to complete a clean-sweep in their home series against Sri Lanka with victory in the third and final test at The Wanderers in Johannesburg, where stalwart batsman Hashim Amla is expected to reach his century of appearances. (CRICKET-SAFRICA/, expect throughout from 0730 GMT/2.30AM ET, 300 words)

Motor Racing

Autosport International Show, Birmingham

BIRMINGHAM, England - Pirelli motorsport director Paul Hembery will be among the familiar Formula One figures attending the Autosport show. We will have stories and news through the day. (MOTOR-F1-SHOW/, expect by 1400GMT/10 AM ET, by Alan Baldwin, 400 words)

Nba

LeBron leads Cavs into clash with Trail Blazers

LeBron James and the reigning NBA champion Cleveland Cavaliers try to pad their lead atop the Eastern Conference when they visit the Portland Trail Blazers. (BASKETBALL-NBA-POR-CLE/, expect by 0640 GMT/1:40 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words) (Asia desk editor: John O'Brien)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below