Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

MOST POPULAR

U.N. peacekeepers in Syria see tensions rise in buffer zone

Tuesday, 27 Mar, 2012 - 02:18

March 26 - United Nations peacekeepers confirm violence between Syrian government loyalists and rebels is spreading into the buffer zone. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

A UN foothold in Syria. United Nations peacekeeping troops patrol a slice of Syrian territory to maintain a ceasefire with Israel. They now face new risks as violence between Syrian government loyalists and rebels comes closer. Earlier this month, peacekeepers stayed in their bunkers as several Syrians were reportedly killed by gunmen loyal to President Bashar al-Assad. The U.N. did not publicize the incident, and there was no report from Israeli forces. This apparent desire to play down the threat reflects the tension gripping the U.N. operation that ran successfully for 36 years and now faces a new challenge as a year-long Syrian uprising against Assad turns ever more violent. (SOUNDBITE) (English) UNDOF COMMANDER MAJOR GENERAL NATALIO ECARMA SAYING: "In the military we always have contingency plans, our purpose is to make sure that if anything happens, whatever it is, the tension does not escalate and friction between Syria and Israel does not happen." The UN is concerned about the rise in violence. Austrian Major Stefan Eder. (SOUNDBITE)(English) AUSTRIAN MAJOR STEFAN EDER SAYING: "There is for sure discussions about that, so far UNDOF is strictly limited to it's mandate, and his mandate says we have to observe the ceasefire agreement of '74." Israel says it would open the Golan gate to Syrian refugees if Assad falls. But Israel, still formally at war with Syria, seems an unlikely haven. Arab neighbors Jordan and Lebanon are just as close to southern Syrian cities as the Golan. Deborah Lutterbeck, Reuters.

U.N. peacekeepers in Syria see tensions rise in buffer zone

Tuesday, 27 Mar, 2012 - 02:18

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, 16 Jul, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, 25 Jun, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, 02 Jun, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, 27 May, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, 08 May, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, 05 May, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, 08 Apr, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, 24 Mar, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, 17 Mar, 2014 - (7:38)

Oddly Enough »

Snow leopard cubs make Bronx Zoo debut Snow leopard cubs make Bronx Zoo debut

Wed, 20 Aug, 2014 - (0:41)

Eco-friendly bench keeps your tech fully charged Eco-friendly bench keeps your tech fully...

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (1:55)

A cheetah cub and a puppy make friends A cheetah cub and a puppy make friends

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (0:48)

Bug eaters unite in Tokyo Bug eaters unite in Tokyo

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (1:23)

Tango dancers put best feet forward Tango dancers put best feet forward

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (1:08)

Giraffe calf checks out new surroundings Giraffe calf checks out new surroundings

Mon, 18 Aug, 2014 - (0:42)

Bolivian priest blesses beloved pups Bolivian priest blesses beloved pups

Sun, 17 Aug, 2014 - (1:25)

Gamescom opens to the public Gamescom opens to the public

Thu, 14 Aug, 2014 - (1:05)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, 06 Jun, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, 30 May, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, 14 Apr, 2014 - (3:28)