Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

World News

Toulouse gunman buried in France

Friday, March 30, 2012 - 00:55

Mar. 29 - Toulouse gunman Merah buried after a day of argument over where to inter his remains. Katharine Jackson reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

The al-Qaeda inspired gunman who killed seven people in southwestern France one week ago - is buried in a Muslim cemetery on the outskirts of Toulouse. Mohamed Merah died in a hail of police bullets. His victims included three Jewish children, their teacher and three soldiers. The burial at 7 o'clock in the evening on Thursday came after a day of wrangling over where to lay his remains. His family wanted him to be buried in a family plot in Algeria. But citing security threats, Algeria refused to allow his body to be flown there. About twenty mourners - most of them young - attended the funeral, escorted by police. Katharine Jackson, Reuters.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Toulouse gunman buried in France

Friday, March 30, 2012 - 00:55

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:02)