Reuters - Video

Edition: US | UK | IN | CN | JP

Tech Videos

SpaceX Dragon capsule homeward bound

Thursday, May 31, 2012 - 00:39

May 31 - The SpaceX Dragon capsule undocks from the International Space Station and heads back to earth after a successful mission. Rough Cut (no reporter narration).

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

(ROUGH CUT ONLY - NO REPORTER NARRATION) The SpaceX Dragon space capsule was undocked from the International Space Station on Thursday (May 31) and began its trek back to earth for a scheduled splashdown in the Pacific Ocean at 1144 EDT (1544 GMT), hundreds of miles west of Baja California. The capsule unberthed from the Space Station after a long and careful series of steps including the removal of 10 sets of electronic bolts that held the capsul in place. After disengaging from the space station the crew swung the robotic arm away from the structure and Dragon backed away away at 0549 EDT (0949 GMT) from the International Space Station where it had been docked for the past 5 days. Once the capsule was released, a series of controlled propulsion burns sent the spacecraft on its way.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

SpaceX Dragon capsule homeward bound

Thursday, May 31, 2012 - 00:39