Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Syrian FM crIticizes Qatar opposition talks

Monday, November 05, 2012 - 01:27

Syria's foreign minister ridicules the latest meeting by Syrian opposition groups in Qatar whilst Russia backs Egyptian plan to reconvene a regional initiative to try to end Syrian crisis. Jessica Gray reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Amateur video purports to show government forces bombarding the city of Deraa on Sunday. Syria's civil war continues to gain momentum with casualties mounting on both sides. Latest reports from the UK- based Syrian Observatory for Human Rights claimed 20 rebel fighters were killed in an air strike in Idlib whilst 50 Syrian pro-Assad security forces are said to have died when a suicide bomber blew himself up in Hama. These reports and videos cannot be independently verified. Syria's fragmented and factional opposition is now trying to create a unified front, with international backing, at a meeting in Doha to better their chances of ending more than a year of bloody conflict. In Damascus, Syria's foreign minister, Faisal Miqdad, dismissed the Doha talks as more laughable foreign meddling in Syrian affairs. Russia, which also opposes what it calls foreign interference in the Syria crisis, endorsed on Monday an Egyptian talks initiative that would include three opponents of Syrian President Bashar al-Assad - Egypt, Saudi Arabia and Turkey - together with Iran - a staunch ally of Syria. Lavrov was speaking at a news conference with Egyptian counterpart Kamel Amr who said Cairo wants all Syrian factions of the opposition, in and out of Syria, to unify under one banner.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Syrian FM crIticizes Qatar opposition talks

Monday, November 05, 2012 - 01:27

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Oddly Enough »

Calling all men: here's your chance to experience labor pains Calling all men: here's your chance to...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:43)

Annie Leibovitz showcases historic "Pilgrimage" Annie Leibovitz showcases historic...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:38)

Block-long billboard lights up Times Square Block-long billboard lights up Times Square

Wed, 19 Nov, 2014 - (1:19)

Japan’s military gets sexy Japan’s military gets sexy

Tue, 18 Nov, 2014 - (1:30)

Paris turns on holiday spirit Paris turns on holiday spirit

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (1:32)

A whale of a tale A whale of a tale

Fri, 14 Nov, 2014 - (0:32)

Sandcastle hits new heights Sandcastle hits new heights

Wed, 12 Nov, 2014 - (0:59)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)