Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Obama: 'We feel confident we've got the votes to win'

Tuesday, 06 Nov, 2012 - 01:20

Nov. 6 - President Barack Obama says he is ''confident'' about election results, congratulates Republican challenger Mitt Romney for a ''hard fought race.'' Rough Cut (no reporter narration)

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

ROUGH CUT - NO REPORTER NARRATION U.S. President Barack Obama congratulated Republican rival Mitt Romney on Tuesday (November 06) for running a hard-fought race for the White House and expressed confidence he would win re-election during a stop at a local campaign office to thank volunteers. "We feel confident we've got the votes to win, but its going to depend ultimately whether those votes turn out and so I would encourage everybody on all sides to make sure you exercise this precious right that we have and that people fought so hard for us to have. I'm looking forward to the results and I expect we'll have a good night, but no matter what happens I just want to say how much I appreciate everybody who has supported me, everybody who has worked so hard on my behalf. And, again, I want to congratulate Governor Romney and his team for a hard fought race as well," Obama said as volunteers made phone calls encouraging supporters to get to the polls. Opinion polls show Obama and Romney in a virtual dead heat, although the Democratic incumbent has a slight advantage in several vital swing states that could give him the 270 electoral votes needed to win the state-by-state contest.

Obama: 'We feel confident we've got the votes to win'

Tuesday, 06 Nov, 2012 - 01:20

Oddly Enough »

Riding a bike "side-saddle" Riding a bike "side-saddle"

Thu, 18 Sep, 2014 - (1:10)

Celebs speak up in Scottish independence debate Celebs speak up in Scottish independence...

Tue, 16 Sep, 2014 - (1:29)

Flying a plane using power of the mind Flying a plane using power of the mind

Tue, 16 Sep, 2014 - (1:55)

Philippines breeds its first baby penguin Philippines breeds its first baby penguin

Tue, 16 Sep, 2014 - (1:18)

Nowhere to hide for this horror film Nowhere to hide for this horror film

Mon, 15 Sep, 2014 - (0:48)

Mexico dishes up creepy crawly fare Mexico dishes up creepy crawly fare

Sun, 14 Sep, 2014 - (1:31)

Lion cubs the pride of San Diego Zoo Lion cubs the pride of San Diego Zoo

Sat, 13 Sep, 2014 - (0:46)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)