Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Superstorm animation charts Sandy's path of destruction

Tuesday, November 06, 2012 - 00:34

Nov. 6 - Researchers at the University of Delaware have produced new animation showing the explosive development of Hurricane Sandy as it moved on its path of destruction from the Caribbean to the northeast United States. Rob Muir reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

The images of Hurricane Sandy's development and slow track northward were produced at the University of Delaware. More than 800 infrared images taken by the Geostationary Operational Environmental Satellite which constantly monitors the continental US, were stitched together to form one animated sequence. The animation represents the period from October 22 to October 31 as Sandy grew and combined with an upper-level jet stream to form one of the most destructive weather systems ever to hit the northeastern United States.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Superstorm animation charts Sandy's path of destruction

Tuesday, November 06, 2012 - 00:34

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Moving Pictures »

Images of November Images of November

Tue, 02 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Dateline Asia »

North Korea to blame for Sony hack: source North Korea to blame for Sony hack: source

Thu, 18 Dec, 2014 - (1:10)

China's house prices fall again China's house prices fall again

Thu, 18 Dec, 2014 - (1:10)

China's child labor problem China's child labor problem

Thu, 18 Dec, 2014 - (2:19)

Measuring up North Korea's heir Measuring up North Korea's heir

Wed, 17 Dec, 2014 - (1:03)

Russia worries rock emerging markets Russia worries rock emerging markets

Wed, 17 Dec, 2014 - (1:14)

Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:03)

Sydney in shock after hostage horror Sydney in shock after hostage horror

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:07)

Not all merry and bright in China's manufacturing sector Not all merry and bright in China's...

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:29)

Beneath the surface of Abe's big win Beneath the surface of Abe's big win

Mon, 15 Dec, 2014 - (1:15)

Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe

Mon, 15 Dec, 2014 - (1:06)