Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Weed legalized in Colorado, Washington

Thursday, 08 Nov, 2012 - 01:43

Nov. 8 - The U.S. states of Colorado and Washington have voted to legalize marijuana for recreational use. Julie Noce reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Marijuana smokers in Colorado and Washington are celebrating after residents in both states voted to legalize the plant for recreational consumption. Under the new laws, people over the age of 21 will be allowed up to one ounce of marijuana, purchased at state licensed stores where it will be taxed like alcohol. In Colorado, known voters took the measure one step further allowing people to grow their own weed... up to six plants worth. Supporters of the bill likened it to repealing alcohol prohibition in the 1930s' (SOUNDBITE)(English) CO-DIRECTOR OF THE YES ON 64 CAMPAIGN, MASON TVERT SAYING: "So just like with alcohol prohibition, our state is standing up and saying we are no longer going to foot the bill for this failed, ineffective, wasteful policy of prohibition. And if the federal government wants to deal with that itself, that is their prerogative. But we are trying a new and more sensible approach and we certainly hope the federal government will work with our state..." The measures are in direct defiance of federal laws that continue to classify the drug as an illegal narcotic, and could provoke intervention from Washington DC. Colorado's governor says federal and local governments should work together to find a solution. (SOUNDBITE)(English) COLORADO GOVERNOR JOHN HICKENLOOPER SAYING: "Well, you know, obviously I did not support it, I think it is, I think the federal government is probably going to come down just like in prohibition, you can not do it by state by state. But I think, at the very minimum, we should work aggressively to de-criminalize it, make sure kids do not get felony records. I mean the voters, the voters were pretty clear what they feel and what they want. So, within the limits of federal law, of whatever the federal government will permit, we have to figure out what is the, how we are going to go forward." For now, marijuana supporters are still riding high on their victory.

Weed legalized in Colorado, Washington

Thursday, 08 Nov, 2012 - 01:43

Editors' Picks »

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, 16 Jul, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, 25 Jun, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, 02 Jun, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, 27 May, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, 08 May, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, 05 May, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, 08 Apr, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, 24 Mar, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, 17 Mar, 2014 - (7:38)

Oddly Enough »

Baby gorilla finds her feet Baby gorilla finds her feet

Tue, 02 Sep, 2014 - (0:49)

Elephants 'lovin' polo tournament Elephants 'lovin' polo tournament

Thu, 28 Aug, 2014 - (1:31)

Triplet pandas celebrate a milestone Triplet pandas celebrate a milestone

Thu, 28 Aug, 2014 - (0:48)

Group shatters record for longest flower garland by a mile Group shatters record for longest flower...

Wed, 27 Aug, 2014 - (1:30)

Masked hero sweeps clean Masked hero sweeps clean

Tue, 26 Aug, 2014 - (1:10)

Right muddy mess at World Bog Snorkeling Championships Right muddy mess at World Bog Snorkeling...

Tue, 26 Aug, 2014 - (1:11)

Hello Kitty conquers space Hello Kitty conquers space

Mon, 25 Aug, 2014 - (1:11)

Japanese zoo welcomes red panda cub Japanese zoo welcomes red panda cub

Mon, 25 Aug, 2014 - (0:42)

Is it a plane? No, it's a hoverbike Is it a plane? No, it's a hoverbike

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (2:40)

Fox kicks off "Simpsons" mega marathon Fox kicks off "Simpsons" mega marathon

Thu, 21 Aug, 2014 - (0:56)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, 06 Jun, 2014 - (1:08)