Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Chavez hopes Obama 'forgets about destabilizing countries'

Friday, 09 Nov, 2012 - 00:53

Nov 9. - Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez says he hopes re-elected U.S. President Barack Obama reflects on his country and ''forgets about'' destabilizing others. Sarah Charlton reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

PLEASE NOTE: EDIT CONTAINS CONVERTED 4:3 MATERIAL As Barack Obama looks to four more years in the White House, he's been urged by Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez to focus on domestic problems. During a meeting with ministers, Chavez said Obama should reflect on a "divided" America. He said the U.S. was "socially and economically fractured" and that poverty was growing by the day. SOUNDBITE: VENEZUELAN PRESIDENT HUGO CHAVEZ SAYING (Spanish): "I hope that he reflects, President Obama, I hope. And that he devotes himself to governing his country and forgets about invading peoples and destabilizing countries, etc." Chavez, who was also recently re-elected, is a harsh critic of the U.S. and its leadership. In a surprise move in September he endorsed Obama, saying he'd vote for the president if he had the chance.

Chavez hopes Obama 'forgets about destabilizing countries'

Friday, 09 Nov, 2012 - 00:53

Editors' Picks »

Oddly Enough »

Riding a bike "side-saddle" Riding a bike "side-saddle"

Thu, 18 Sep, 2014 - (1:10)

Celebs speak up in Scottish independence debate Celebs speak up in Scottish independence...

Tue, 16 Sep, 2014 - (1:29)

Flying a plane using power of the mind Flying a plane using power of the mind

Tue, 16 Sep, 2014 - (1:55)

Philippines breeds its first baby penguin Philippines breeds its first baby penguin

Tue, 16 Sep, 2014 - (1:18)

Nowhere to hide for this horror film Nowhere to hide for this horror film

Mon, 15 Sep, 2014 - (0:48)

Mexico dishes up creepy crawly fare Mexico dishes up creepy crawly fare

Sun, 14 Sep, 2014 - (1:31)

Lion cubs the pride of San Diego Zoo Lion cubs the pride of San Diego Zoo

Sat, 13 Sep, 2014 - (0:46)

Dateline Asia »

Sterling jumps, on Scottish vote Sterling jumps, on Scottish vote

3:16am BST - (2:56)

Rare rock on the block in Hong Kong Rare rock on the block in Hong Kong

Thu, 18 Sep, 2014 - (1:43)

Alibaba IPO is 'overhyped': Mark Mobius Alibaba IPO is 'overhyped': Mark Mobius

Thu, 18 Sep, 2014 - (4:13)

China tech players chip away at Alibaba China tech players chip away at Alibaba

Wed, 17 Sep, 2014 - (4:02)

Breakingviews: India hits Japan/China radar Breakingviews: India hits Japan/China radar

Wed, 17 Sep, 2014 - (2:20)

Asia corporate sentiment is slipping Asia corporate sentiment is slipping

Wed, 17 Sep, 2014 - (1:36)

Alibaba's China roadshow Alibaba's China roadshow

Mon, 15 Sep, 2014 - (2:16)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)