Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Military joins anti-austerity protests in Portugal

Saturday, 10 Nov, 2012 - 00:40

Nov. 10 - Retired and active members of the military, and their families, protest against Portugal's austerity measures in the 2013 budget. Rough Cut (no reporter narration).

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

ROUGH CUT (NO REPORTER NARRATION) STORY: Thousands of members of Portugal's military, retired and active, and their relatives gathered on Saturday in the capital Lisbon to protest protest against the austerity measures of the 2013 Budget. Facing a higher tax rate on income, property and medical care, José Paulo Leitão, a sergeant in the Portuguese military, says it doesn't make any sense. Higher taxes and less salary are not the only issues they are raising. They are also calling for better equipment and training. The government of Prime Minister Passos Coelho can no longer count on the broad consensus behind austerity that existed during the first year of the bailout that had set Portugal apart from countries like Greece. That changed at the end of summer when the government proposed a hike in social security contributions, prompting the first mass protests in Portugal in years.

Military joins anti-austerity protests in Portugal

Saturday, 10 Nov, 2012 - 00:40

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)