Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Video

Captured Syrian border town is bombarded

Sunday, November 11, 2012 - 00:47

Nov. 11 - Syrian government forces battle with rebels for the town of Ras al-Ain as Turkey considers using missiles to protect its border. Lindsey Parietti reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Weapons fire cracks through the air of this Syrian border town. President Bashar al-Assad's forces are bombarding Ras al-Ain with helicopters and artillery fire, as rebels fight to hold the town they claimed last week. This Turkish resident says the violence has spilled over the border, forcing some to send their families away. International powers have so far shied away from intervention in the region. But Turkey - once Assad's close ally - is considering asking NATO to deploy Patriot missiles along its border. Any placement of surface-to-air missiles could be the first step towards enforcing a no-fly zone over Syria.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Captured Syrian border town is bombarded

Sunday, November 11, 2012 - 00:47

Most Popular »

Moving Pictures »

Images of November Images of November

Tue, 02 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Dateline Asia »

China's child labor problem China's child labor problem

6:32am GMT - (2:19)

Measuring up North Korea's heir Measuring up North Korea's heir

Wed, 17 Dec, 2014 - (1:03)

Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:03)

Sydney in shock after hostage horror Sydney in shock after hostage horror

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:07)

Not all merry and bright in China's manufacturing sector Not all merry and bright in China's...

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:29)

Beneath the surface of Abe's big win Beneath the surface of Abe's big win

Mon, 15 Dec, 2014 - (1:15)

Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe

Mon, 15 Dec, 2014 - (1:06)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)