Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Israel responds to border violence

Tuesday, November 13, 2012 - 01:18

Nov. 13 - Israeli air strikes hit the Gaza Strip as Palestinian groups signal a potential ceasefire following increased attacks from both sides since Saturday. Lindsey Parietti reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Israeli officials touch down near the border with Gaza amid ongoing violence. Palestinian militants indicated they were ready for a truce late Monday, and only one rocket strike was reported on Israel Tuesday morning. But Israel hit three targets in the strip Tuesday and Defence Minister Ehud Barak says the conflict is not over. (SOUNDBITE) (Hebrew) ISRAELI DEFENCE MINISTER EHUD BARAK SAYING: "The matter has definitely not ended and we will decide how and when to act at the time when there will be a need. I do not want to relate to the time or the means because it would not be right to allow the other side to have this information." The exchange of fire has flared up since Saturday when four Israeli soldiers were wounded along the border. Israel responded with tank fire and air strikes that killed six and wounded over 40. Palestinian militants have also fired a number of rockets from the enclave. Hamas and other Islamist groups said Monday they would respond according to how Israel acts in the future - signalling they may be ready for a ceasefire.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Israel responds to border violence

Tuesday, November 13, 2012 - 01:18

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of November Images of November

Tue, 02 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Dateline Asia »

China's child labor problem China's child labor problem

6:32am GMT - (2:19)

Measuring up North Korea's heir Measuring up North Korea's heir

Wed, 17 Dec, 2014 - (1:03)

Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:03)

Sydney in shock after hostage horror Sydney in shock after hostage horror

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:07)

Beneath the surface of Abe's big win Beneath the surface of Abe's big win

Mon, 15 Dec, 2014 - (1:15)

Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe

Mon, 15 Dec, 2014 - (1:06)

Abe eyes big win in Japan election Abe eyes big win in Japan election

Sun, 14 Dec, 2014 - (1:00)

Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame

Fri, 12 Dec, 2014 - (1:40)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)