Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Syrian man swoops up child as warplanes close in

Tuesday, November 13, 2012 - 01:34

Nov. 13 - A driver was crushed after a government flattened his vehicle near Damascus while locals in Ras al Ain flee as warplanes closed in on the Syrian town. Deborah Gembara reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

In a suburb of Damascus, a car locals say was flattened by a government tank. They approach it cautiously. Tugging on a cable attached to its frame, they pull the car onto a side street and discover driver's crushed body. Reuters cannot independently verify the content of this video which was posted to a social media website. It came on a day where warplanes could be heard over Ras al Ain. Panic and scrambling as bombers move in on this Syrian border town. A child is consoled as anxious locals try to determine which areas are being targeted. The uncertainty forces a difficult choice -- to stay or go. Some run for cover as others pile into cars headed for outlying areas. In other video purportedly from the same area, a plane buzzes by just moments before (two explosions) Rows of destroyed shops. Air strikes on this area, say activists, are responsible for widescale fleeing. As many as 2.5 million Syrian nationals have fled their homes since the conflict started.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Syrian man swoops up child as warplanes close in

Tuesday, November 13, 2012 - 01:34

Most Popular »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of November Images of November

Tue, 02 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Dateline Asia »

China's child labor problem China's child labor problem

6:32am GMT - (2:19)

Measuring up North Korea's heir Measuring up North Korea's heir

Wed, 17 Dec, 2014 - (1:03)

Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:03)

Sydney in shock after hostage horror Sydney in shock after hostage horror

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:07)

Beneath the surface of Abe's big win Beneath the surface of Abe's big win

Mon, 15 Dec, 2014 - (1:15)

Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe

Mon, 15 Dec, 2014 - (1:06)

Abe eyes big win in Japan election Abe eyes big win in Japan election

Sun, 14 Dec, 2014 - (1:00)

Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame

Fri, 12 Dec, 2014 - (1:40)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)