Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Video

China's Hu hails Party Congress a success

Wednesday, November 14, 2012 - 01:21

Nov. 14 - China ends its 18th Party Congress, offering the first clues on a generational leadership change and hailed by President Hu Jintao as a major success. Sarah Sheffer reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

China concludes its 18th Communist Party Congress on Wednesday, offering some clues to the party's upcoming generational leadership change. After days of deliberation and ceremony, the congress unanimously approved President Hu Jintao's "state of the nation" report and approved a revision to the party charter. Hu's report warned that corruption threatened the party's rule and the state, but said the party must stay in charge as it battles growing social unrest. Outside Beijing's Great Hall of the People, delegate Jin Yaping reflected that need. (SOUNDBITE)(Mandarin) DELEGATE JIN YAPING SAYING: "I think the government needs to increase its strength of supervision. How can we do it? I think we need to change it from the systemic level, we need to start from the grass roots." But China's Vice Foreign Minister said that while Beijing would continue to reform politically, Western-style multi-party democracy was not the goal. China has been rocked this year by scandals over high-profile corruption, and public anger over abuses of power is increasing. Advocates of reform are pressing the future leadership to tether the powers of a state that they say risks suffocating growth and further fanning discontent.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

China's Hu hails Party Congress a success

Wednesday, November 14, 2012 - 01:21

Top News »

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

Oddly Enough »

Christie's opens new Shanghai office Christie's opens new Shanghai office

Wed, 22 Oct, 2014 - (1:13)

White lion cubs unveiled to the public White lion cubs unveiled to the public

Tue, 21 Oct, 2014 - (1:01)

Ebola Halloween getup stirs controversy Ebola Halloween getup stirs controversy

Tue, 21 Oct, 2014 - (1:14)

Cuddly Ebola toy almost wiped out Cuddly Ebola toy almost wiped out

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (0:34)

New MoMA exhibit cut out for Matisse New MoMA exhibit cut out for Matisse

Thu, 16 Oct, 2014 - (1:28)

London's Frieze art fair tests your senses London's Frieze art fair tests your senses

Thu, 16 Oct, 2014 - (1:28)

Paris streets become gallery for Plato-inspired sculptures Paris streets become gallery for...

Wed, 15 Oct, 2014 - (1:21)

Music project helps low-income kids even before birth Music project helps low-income kids even...

Tue, 14 Oct, 2014 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)