Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Daily digit: World record diamond

Wednesday, November 14, 2012 - 01:06

Nov. 14 - Archduke Joseph diamond fetches world record $21.5 million at auction. Hayley Platt reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

18.1 million Swiss francs is today's daily digit in Europe. (ACTUALITY) "Sold to you madame for 18.1 million francs thank you very much" The $21.5 million sale took place at Christies in Geneva. (SOUNDBITE)(English) FRANCOIS CURIEL, PRESIDENT OF CHRISTIE'S ASIA, SAYING: "It's a world record price for a Golconda D colour flawless diamond and it's a world record price also per carat for a diamond of this importance." The Indian diamond is called 'Archduke Joseph' after its original owner - a Hungarian prince from the Habsburgs line. It weighs 76 carats and is the size of a large strawberry. It was bought from international jewellers Black by an anonymous bidder - Alfredo Molina is its chairman. (SOUNDBITE)(English) VENDOR OF THE ARCHDUKE JOSEPH DIAMOND, ALFREDO J. MOLINA FROM THE JEWELLERY COMPANY BLACK, STARR AND FROST, SAYING: "I congratulate the buyer, because they've truly acquired something that is of tremendous history and one of the most beautiful, if not the most beautiful diamond in the world" Diamond prices generally have fallen 2 percent in recent weeks - but this $21.5million gem clearly has an added sparkle.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Daily digit: World record diamond

Wednesday, November 14, 2012 - 01:06

Top News »

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Oddly Enough »

Buffalo on a rampage injures 14 in China Buffalo on a rampage injures 14 in China

Tue, 25 Nov, 2014 - (0:30)

Yellow-spotted turtles rescued from trafficking Yellow-spotted turtles rescued from...

Mon, 24 Nov, 2014 - (0:44)

Birds around the world take flight Birds around the world take flight

Sat, 22 Nov, 2014 - (2:00)

Calling all men: here's your chance to experience labor pains Calling all men: here's your chance to...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:43)

Annie Leibovitz showcases historic "Pilgrimage" Annie Leibovitz showcases historic...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:38)

Block-long billboard lights up Times Square Block-long billboard lights up Times Square

Wed, 19 Nov, 2014 - (1:19)

Japan’s military gets sexy Japan’s military gets sexy

Tue, 18 Nov, 2014 - (1:30)

Paris turns on holiday spirit Paris turns on holiday spirit

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (1:32)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:02)