Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Daily digit: World record diamond

Wednesday, 14 Nov, 2012 - 01:06

Nov. 14 - Archduke Joseph diamond fetches world record $21.5 million at auction. Hayley Platt reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

18.1 million Swiss francs is today's daily digit in Europe. (ACTUALITY) "Sold to you madame for 18.1 million francs thank you very much" The $21.5 million sale took place at Christies in Geneva. (SOUNDBITE)(English) FRANCOIS CURIEL, PRESIDENT OF CHRISTIE'S ASIA, SAYING: "It's a world record price for a Golconda D colour flawless diamond and it's a world record price also per carat for a diamond of this importance." The Indian diamond is called 'Archduke Joseph' after its original owner - a Hungarian prince from the Habsburgs line. It weighs 76 carats and is the size of a large strawberry. It was bought from international jewellers Black by an anonymous bidder - Alfredo Molina is its chairman. (SOUNDBITE)(English) VENDOR OF THE ARCHDUKE JOSEPH DIAMOND, ALFREDO J. MOLINA FROM THE JEWELLERY COMPANY BLACK, STARR AND FROST, SAYING: "I congratulate the buyer, because they've truly acquired something that is of tremendous history and one of the most beautiful, if not the most beautiful diamond in the world" Diamond prices generally have fallen 2 percent in recent weeks - but this $21.5million gem clearly has an added sparkle.

Daily digit: World record diamond

Wednesday, 14 Nov, 2012 - 01:06

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)