Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Petraeus, Allen intervened in Florida woman's custody case

Wednesday, 14 Nov, 2012 - 01:28

Nov. 13 - The scandal surrounding David Petraeus widened to include a top U.S. commander and is raising questions about their links to Florida resident Jill Kelley.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

In the wake of CIA Director David Petraeus's resignation ---- there are even more questions... about Paula Broadwell, the woman he had an affair with, whose North Carolina home was searched by FBI agents overnight. And Petraeus' successor in Afghanistan... General John Allen and his links to Jill Kelly, the Florida woman who first contacted the FBI White House Spokesman Jay Carney. SOUNDBITE: White House Spokesman Jay Carney saying: "I can tell you that the president thinks very highly of General Allen and his service to the country as well as the job he has done in Afghanistan." Allen's nomination to head the United State's European Command is on hold as the FBI investigates communication between him and Jill Kelly, apparently 20 to 30,000 pages worth. It doesn't end there. Both Petraeus and Allen intervened in a child custody battle involving Kelly's twin sister. Both men wrote letters to the D.C. Superior Court on her behalf. What is still a mystery is the exact nature of the relationship between the Tampa socialite and two of the top military leaders of their generation.

Petraeus, Allen intervened in Florida woman's custody case

Wednesday, 14 Nov, 2012 - 01:28

Editors' Picks »

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)