Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

New-look China leadership takes center stage

Friday, November 16, 2012 - 01:23

Nov. 16 - As the baton is passed from one generation of Chinese leadership to the next, citizens and analysts look to the future. Lily Grimes reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Out with the old and in with the new. The ruling Chinese Communist Party's once-in-a-decade power transition sees Xi Jinping take over from current President Hu Jintao in March. China's 1.3 billion citizens had no say in the process but there's no shortage of opinion on these powerful men and where they'll steer the world's second-largest economy over the next five years This man says while the last set of leaders were a bit old for the job, the new lot are energetic and promising. Analyst Willy Lam said Xi Jinping's appointment as Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces could mean a change in military policy. (SOUNDBITE) (English) CHINA ANALYST, WILLY LAM, SAYING: "Well, Xi Jinping has many good friends amongst the generals. So it's possible that, in order to consolidate his power quickly, Xi Jinping might push a harder line on foreign and military policy. So we expect, perhaps, possible confrontation with Japan, with the Philippines and Vietnam over sovereignty disputes concerning the islands in the South China Sea and the East China Sea.'' Hu Jintao has emphasised corruption as the biggest danger faced by the party and the state. But the new leaders also confront immense social, economic and political challenges, which, if not managed skilfully, could shake the party to its core.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

New-look China leadership takes center stage

Friday, November 16, 2012 - 01:23

Top News »

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Oddly Enough »

Buffalo on a rampage injures 14 in China Buffalo on a rampage injures 14 in China

Tue, 25 Nov, 2014 - (0:30)

Yellow-spotted turtles rescued from trafficking Yellow-spotted turtles rescued from...

Mon, 24 Nov, 2014 - (0:44)

Birds around the world take flight Birds around the world take flight

Sat, 22 Nov, 2014 - (2:00)

Calling all men: here's your chance to experience labor pains Calling all men: here's your chance to...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:43)

Annie Leibovitz showcases historic "Pilgrimage" Annie Leibovitz showcases historic...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:38)

Block-long billboard lights up Times Square Block-long billboard lights up Times Square

Wed, 19 Nov, 2014 - (1:19)

Japan’s military gets sexy Japan’s military gets sexy

Tue, 18 Nov, 2014 - (1:30)

Paris turns on holiday spirit Paris turns on holiday spirit

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (1:32)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:02)