Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Teaching Afghans to fight as France prepares to bid adieu

Monday, 19 Nov, 2012 - 01:17

Nov. 19 - Afghan army goes it alone in Kapisa province as French combat troops prepare to pull out. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Learning how to fight in Afghanistan. In Kapisa province training is underway for the Afghan Army. The province, once under the domain of French troops, will now be in the hands of Afghans. They are ready for the fight. (SOUNDBITE) (Uzbek) AFGHAN GENERAL BARAKATTULAH SAYING: "This army, the national Afghanistan army was in part created by the international community but the quality of this army is in the hands of Afghans." Earlier this year France announced that it would withdraw combat troops by the end of 2012. Several hundred stay behind to help with training. As they leave -- a sense of optimism. (SOUNDBITE) (French) LIEUTENANT COLONEL YANN SUDERET SAYING: "They are now capable of co-ordinating security operations and can plan operations. It is now being done by Afghans and for Afghans in Kapisa province under the orders of the civilian governor. So yes, the feeling is good." Most NATO combat forces are expected to leave by the end of 2014, leaving security in the hands of Afghan forces.

Teaching Afghans to fight as France prepares to bid adieu

Monday, 19 Nov, 2012 - 01:17

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)