Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Hamas welcomes ceasefire

Thursday, November 22, 2012 - 01:07

Nov. 22 - The leader of Hamas welcomes the ceasefire in Gaza, residents return home from shelters. Julie Noce reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Residents in Gaza City celebrate after a ceasefire was announced between Hamas and Israel. Thousands of people took to the streets, honking their horns... and waving flags. Under the agreement, brokered by Egypt, Israel and Hamas agreed to stop their bombing campaigns. The situation is still tense. Both sides say they're ready to resume hostilities if the other fails to comply with the terms. Hamas leader Khaled Meshaal spoke at a news conference. (SOUNDBITE)(Arabic) HAMAS LEADER, KHALED MESHAAL, SAYING: "This agreement today... we will observe this agreement. If Israel complies, we will comply as well. And if Israel does not stick to its obligations, our finger is on the trigger and if you fire again, we will fire." For most people the ceasefire means security and better nights rest. Residents who had sought shelter at a United Nations school packed up mattresses and their belongings to return home. If the ceasefire does hold, both Israel and Hamas will discuss improved conditions for the Gaza crossings.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Hamas welcomes ceasefire

Thursday, November 22, 2012 - 01:07

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Oddly Enough »

Never too old to fly a hot-air balloon Never too old to fly a hot-air balloon

Tue, 30 Sep, 2014 - (0:51)

Never too old to fly a hot-air balloon Never too old to fly a hot-air balloon

Tue, 30 Sep, 2014 - (0:51)

Brazilian artist grows bamboo to make instruments Brazilian artist grows bamboo to make...

Tue, 30 Sep, 2014 - (1:12)

In the ink at the London Tattoo Convention In the ink at the London Tattoo Convention

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (1:01)

Gromit to go in Hong Kong Gromit to go in Hong Kong

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (1:15)

Rare white waterbuck calf at San Diego Zoo Rare white waterbuck calf at San Diego Zoo

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (0:38)

Weekly animal round up Weekly animal round up

Sun, 28 Sep, 2014 - (1:07)

Japanese company unveils robot cheerleaders Japanese company unveils robot cheerleaders

Thu, 25 Sep, 2014 - (1:09)

Polo players ride yaks in popular event Polo players ride yaks in popular event

Tue, 23 Sep, 2014 - (1:27)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)