Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Hamas welcomes ceasefire

Thursday, November 22, 2012 - 01:07

Nov. 22 - The leader of Hamas welcomes the ceasefire in Gaza, residents return home from shelters. Julie Noce reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Residents in Gaza City celebrate after a ceasefire was announced between Hamas and Israel. Thousands of people took to the streets, honking their horns... and waving flags. Under the agreement, brokered by Egypt, Israel and Hamas agreed to stop their bombing campaigns. The situation is still tense. Both sides say they're ready to resume hostilities if the other fails to comply with the terms. Hamas leader Khaled Meshaal spoke at a news conference. (SOUNDBITE)(Arabic) HAMAS LEADER, KHALED MESHAAL, SAYING: "This agreement today... we will observe this agreement. If Israel complies, we will comply as well. And if Israel does not stick to its obligations, our finger is on the trigger and if you fire again, we will fire." For most people the ceasefire means security and better nights rest. Residents who had sought shelter at a United Nations school packed up mattresses and their belongings to return home. If the ceasefire does hold, both Israel and Hamas will discuss improved conditions for the Gaza crossings.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Hamas welcomes ceasefire

Thursday, November 22, 2012 - 01:07

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Oddly Enough »

Thailand hosts the largest gathering of Santa's Elves Thailand hosts the largest gathering of...

Tue, 25 Nov, 2014 - (0:54)

Yellow-spotted turtles rescued from trafficking Yellow-spotted turtles rescued from...

Mon, 24 Nov, 2014 - (0:44)

Vintage cars roll through Pakistan Vintage cars roll through Pakistan

Mon, 24 Nov, 2014 - (1:22)

Birds around the world take flight Birds around the world take flight

Sat, 22 Nov, 2014 - (2:00)

Calling all men: here's your chance to experience labor pains Calling all men: here's your chance to...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:43)

Annie Leibovitz showcases historic "Pilgrimage" Annie Leibovitz showcases historic...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:38)

Block-long billboard lights up Times Square Block-long billboard lights up Times Square

Wed, 19 Nov, 2014 - (1:19)

Japan’s military gets sexy Japan’s military gets sexy

Tue, 18 Nov, 2014 - (1:30)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:02)