Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

MOST POPULAR

Hamas supporters celebrate in the West Bank

Friday, November 23, 2012 - 01:22

Nov. 23 - Hamas supporters call for unity during West Bank celebrations while a tense stand-off develops along the Gaza border after a Palestinian is shot dead. Sunita Rappai reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

A rare sight in the West Bank - Hamas supporters taking to the streets calling for unity as they celebrate a so-called 'victory' in the recent conflict with Israel. Hundreds braved the rain here in the conservative city of Hebron and in Ramallah as they called for unity between Hamas and its bitter rival Fatah. In Gaza, Hamas leader Ismail Haniyeh attended Friday prayers as preachers there also hailed a victory against Israel. Addressing worshippers, Haniheh praised the 'hero martyr' Ahmad Al Jaabari - the Hamas security chief assassinated by Israel 10 days ago. But despite Wednesday's ceasefire, there was tension at the Gaza border on Friday after a shooting incident left one Palestinian dead and several others wounded. Relatives of the dead 23-year-old man said he was trying to place a Hamas flag on the border fence, before being shot in the head. Seven other Palestinians have been wounded by Israeli gunfire since the start of the ceasefire, according to medics. According to the terms of the truce, both sides agreed to stop hositilities but details on access to the tense border zone were still to be worked out.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Hamas supporters celebrate in the West Bank

Friday, November 23, 2012 - 01:22

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Oddly Enough »

Calling all men: here's your chance to experience labor pains Calling all men: here's your chance to...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:43)

Annie Leibovitz showcases historic "Pilgrimage" Annie Leibovitz showcases historic...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:38)

Block-long billboard lights up Times Square Block-long billboard lights up Times Square

Wed, 19 Nov, 2014 - (1:19)

Japan’s military gets sexy Japan’s military gets sexy

Tue, 18 Nov, 2014 - (1:30)

Paris turns on holiday spirit Paris turns on holiday spirit

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (1:32)

A whale of a tale A whale of a tale

Fri, 14 Nov, 2014 - (0:32)

Sandcastle hits new heights Sandcastle hits new heights

Wed, 12 Nov, 2014 - (0:59)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)