Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

In Depth

Mobile lift takes mountain warfare to new heights

Wednesday, 28 Nov, 2012 - 01:45

Nov. 28 - The Russian army, stationed on the Russia-Georgia border, has been testing a new mobile cable lift in the Caucasus Mountains. The lift is designed to speed troop and weapons deployment for combat missions in difficult terrain. Rob Muir reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Unlike conventional cable-car systems, this one is designed for war. Its individual components can be assembled quickly, allowing both troops and munitions to be deployed in mountainous terrain with unprecedented speed and efficiency. For Russian troops fighting insurgents in the harsh Caucasus Mountains, the lift is seen as a potentially invaluable tool. It's undergoing tests in conjunction with the army's routine combat exercises, under the watchful eye of designer, engineer Alexander Fillipov.. (SOUNDBITE) ALEXANDER FILIPPOV - CABLE LIFT DESIGNER, SAYING: "It is to be used in mountainous conditions to transport personnel on barely passable terrain, where routes of communication are destroyed and there is no other way to move further, over a canyon for example." The mobile lift can be built to a length of 700 metres and can carry several soldiers and their munitions at one time. It's the realisation of an idea first proposed during the 1980s when the Soviet Union was fighting in the mountains of Afghanistan. But when the Soviet Union collapsed in the early 90s, so did funding for the project. Ten years later however, ongoing skirmishes along Russia's southern frontier have brought the idea to life and Filippov says he's pleased with the results so far. (SOUNDBITE) ALEXANDER FILIPPOV - CABLE LIFT DESIGNER, SAYING: "There were ten of us who assembled it this time, otherwise up to 40 people are needed to assemble it within the prescribed time, that is two days." And once assembled, Filippov says, the cable lift could make the difference between defeat and victory.

Mobile lift takes mountain warfare to new heights

Wednesday, 28 Nov, 2012 - 01:45

Editors' Picks »

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, 16 Jul, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, 25 Jun, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, 02 Jun, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, 27 May, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, 08 May, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, 05 May, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, 08 Apr, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, 24 Mar, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, 17 Mar, 2014 - (7:38)

Oddly Enough »

Snow leopard cubs make Bronx Zoo debut Snow leopard cubs make Bronx Zoo debut

Wed, 20 Aug, 2014 - (0:41)

Eco-friendly bench keeps your tech fully charged Eco-friendly bench keeps your tech fully...

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (1:55)

A cheetah cub and a puppy make friends A cheetah cub and a puppy make friends

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (0:48)

Bug eaters unite in Tokyo Bug eaters unite in Tokyo

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (1:23)

Tango dancers put best feet forward Tango dancers put best feet forward

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (1:08)

Giraffe calf checks out new surroundings Giraffe calf checks out new surroundings

Mon, 18 Aug, 2014 - (0:42)

Bolivian priest blesses beloved pups Bolivian priest blesses beloved pups

Sun, 17 Aug, 2014 - (1:25)

Gamescom opens to the public Gamescom opens to the public

Thu, 14 Aug, 2014 - (1:05)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, 06 Jun, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, 30 May, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, 14 Apr, 2014 - (3:28)