Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Syrian minister hails 'hero' troops

Thursday, November 29, 2012 - 01:08

Nov. 29 - Syria's interior minister is seen presiding over the graduation of new army recruits and calls forces engaging with rebels ''heroes'', in footage aired on Syrian TV. Sarah Charlton reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

EDITORS NOTE: EDIT CONTAINS CONVERTED 4:3 MATERIAL Syrian government troops train for combat near Damascus. Footage broadcast on Syrian state television shows soldiers conducting a number of military drills in a display of strength and skill. Watching the event is Interior Minister Mohammad al-Shaar, who also presided over a graduation for new recruits. Shaar told the ceremony that Syria would emerge stronger from its battle with rebel fighters, who have been trying to bring down the government for the past 20 months. He said soldiers engaging with rebel forces were "heroes". The event came as rebels appeared to make gains by storming army bases in the country. The ongoing conflict has now claimed some 40,000 lives. In the capital on Wednesday (November 28), two car bombs killed more than 30 people in an area loyal to President Bashar al-Assad.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Syrian minister hails 'hero' troops

Thursday, November 29, 2012 - 01:08

Editors' Picks »

Oddly Enough »

Pillow fight record smashed Pillow fight record smashed

6:05pm BST - (0:58)

Never too old to fly a hot-air balloon Never too old to fly a hot-air balloon

Tue, 30 Sep, 2014 - (0:51)

Never too old to fly a hot-air balloon Never too old to fly a hot-air balloon

Tue, 30 Sep, 2014 - (0:51)

Brazilian artist grows bamboo to make instruments Brazilian artist grows bamboo to make...

Tue, 30 Sep, 2014 - (1:12)

Dogs hang ten Dogs hang ten

Tue, 30 Sep, 2014 - (0:28)

In the ink at the London Tattoo Convention In the ink at the London Tattoo Convention

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (1:01)

Gromit to go in Hong Kong Gromit to go in Hong Kong

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (1:15)

Rare white waterbuck calf at San Diego Zoo Rare white waterbuck calf at San Diego Zoo

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (0:38)

Weekly animal round up Weekly animal round up

Sun, 28 Sep, 2014 - (1:07)

Japanese company unveils robot cheerleaders Japanese company unveils robot cheerleaders

Thu, 25 Sep, 2014 - (1:09)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)