Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Palestinians win implicit U.N. recognition of sovereign state

Friday, November 30, 2012 - 01:28

Nov. 29 - The U.N. General Assembly on Thursday overwhelmingly approved the de facto recognition of a sovereign Palestinian state. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas takes center stage at the UN calling for recognition. (SOUNDBITE) (Arabic) PALESTINIAN PRESIDENT MAHMOUD ABBAS SAYING: "Mr. President, ladies and gentlemen, the General Assembly is called upon today to issue a birth certificate of the reality of the State of Palestine." The international body gave overwhelming support for the bid -- which is a de facto recognition of a state. In Washington, U.S. Secretary of State said the move will do little for Mideast peace. (SOUNDBITE) (English) HILLARY CLINTON, U.S. SECRETARY OF STATE SAYING: "The United States opposes the resolution which we believe will do nothing to advance the peace and the two state solution we all want to see." While the US is calling for an immediate resumption of peace talks, in the West Bank they are savoring their victory.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Palestinians win implicit U.N. recognition of sovereign state

Friday, November 30, 2012 - 01:28

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Oddly Enough »

Calling all men: here's your chance to experience labor pains Calling all men: here's your chance to...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:43)

Annie Leibovitz showcases historic "Pilgrimage" Annie Leibovitz showcases historic...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:38)

Block-long billboard lights up Times Square Block-long billboard lights up Times Square

Wed, 19 Nov, 2014 - (1:19)

Japan’s military gets sexy Japan’s military gets sexy

Tue, 18 Nov, 2014 - (1:30)

Paris turns on holiday spirit Paris turns on holiday spirit

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (1:32)

A whale of a tale A whale of a tale

Fri, 14 Nov, 2014 - (0:32)

Sandcastle hits new heights Sandcastle hits new heights

Wed, 12 Nov, 2014 - (0:59)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)