Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Afghan policewoman kills coalition contractor in Kabul

Monday, December 24, 2012 - 00:59

Dec. 24 - An Afghan woman wearing a police uniform kills a civilian contractor working for Western forces in Kabul. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

An Afghan woman wearing a police uniform shot and killed a civilian contractor working for Western forces in the police chief's compound in Kabul. The woman approached her victim as he was walking in the compound. She drew a pistol and shot him once. (SOUNDBITE) (English) BRIGADIER GENERAL JOHN MADOWER, ISAF SPOKESMAN, SAYING: "The perpetrator is in custody of the Afghan authorities, she was dressed as a member of the Afghan uniform police although her affiliation with the police is not known at this point in time.' Women in the police force have recently been showcased as examples of the Afghan-Western efforts to promote rights in the new Afghanistan. But the attack is bound to raise troubling questions about the direction of an unpopular war. Insider attacks now account for one in every five combat deaths, and 16 percent of all U.S. combat casualties.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Afghan policewoman kills coalition contractor in Kabul

Monday, December 24, 2012 - 00:59

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Oddly Enough »

Block-long billboard lights up Times Square Block-long billboard lights up Times Square

Wed, 19 Nov, 2014 - (1:19)

Japan’s military gets sexy Japan’s military gets sexy

Tue, 18 Nov, 2014 - (1:30)

Paris turns on holiday spirit Paris turns on holiday spirit

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (1:32)

A whale of a tale A whale of a tale

Fri, 14 Nov, 2014 - (0:32)

Sandcastle hits new heights Sandcastle hits new heights

Wed, 12 Nov, 2014 - (0:59)

Rothko and Jasper Johns are top lots at Sotheby's Rothko and Jasper Johns are top lots at...

Wed, 12 Nov, 2014 - (1:52)

Obama's gum habit lands him in sticky situation Obama's gum habit lands him in sticky...

Wed, 12 Nov, 2014 - (1:05)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)