Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

MOST POPULAR

Singh appeals for calm

Monday, 24 Dec, 2012 - 00:36

Dec. 24 - Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh calls for calm amidst violent anti-rape protests across the country. Rough Cut (no reporter narration).

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh appealed for calm on Monday (December 24) as he sought to calm growing public outrage over the gang rape of a young woman that led to clashes between police and protesters in the heart of the capital at the weekend. Singh, who has faced fierce criticism for remaining largely silent about the rape, vowed action against what he called a "monstrous" crime. (SOUNDBITE) (English) INDIAN PRIME MINISTER MANMOHAN SINGH SAYING: "I feel deeply sad at the turn of events leading to clashes between protesters and police forces. Anger at this crime is justified, but violence will serve no purpose. I appeal to all concerned citizens to maintain peace and calm. I assure you that we will make all possible efforts to ensure the security and safety of women in this country." The 23-year-old victim, who was attacked and then thrown from a moving bus in New Delhi, remains in hospital in critical condition. Police barricaded roads leading to the centre of the city, that has become a hub of the protests by mostly college students.

Singh appeals for calm

Monday, 24 Dec, 2012 - 00:36

Editors' Picks »

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)