Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

MOST POPULAR

Singh appeals for calm

Monday, December 24, 2012 - 00:36

Dec. 24 - Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh calls for calm amidst violent anti-rape protests across the country. Rough Cut (no reporter narration).

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh appealed for calm on Monday (December 24) as he sought to calm growing public outrage over the gang rape of a young woman that led to clashes between police and protesters in the heart of the capital at the weekend. Singh, who has faced fierce criticism for remaining largely silent about the rape, vowed action against what he called a "monstrous" crime. (SOUNDBITE) (English) INDIAN PRIME MINISTER MANMOHAN SINGH SAYING: "I feel deeply sad at the turn of events leading to clashes between protesters and police forces. Anger at this crime is justified, but violence will serve no purpose. I appeal to all concerned citizens to maintain peace and calm. I assure you that we will make all possible efforts to ensure the security and safety of women in this country." The 23-year-old victim, who was attacked and then thrown from a moving bus in New Delhi, remains in hospital in critical condition. Police barricaded roads leading to the centre of the city, that has become a hub of the protests by mostly college students.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Singh appeals for calm

Monday, December 24, 2012 - 00:36

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:02)