Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

At least four killed in Russian plane crash

Saturday, December 29, 2012 - 01:06

Dec 29 - At least four killed when Russian airliner crash lands outside Moscow. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

At least four people are killed when a Russian airliner crashes onto a highway outside Moscow. Eight crew members were on board when the plane broke into pieces after it slid off the runway. Witnesses told state TV they saw a man thrown from the plane as it rammed into the barrier of the highway. (SOUNDBITE) (Russian) COLONEL YURI BESEDIN, RUSSIAN EMERGENCIES MINISTRY, SAYING: "Upon landing an engine failed - or according to other reports, there was a fire in the engine. The plane overshot a runway and was destroyed." The crash came during peak holiday travel ahead of Russia's New Year's vacation. Russian investigators say preliminary findings point to pilot error. The crash cast a spotlight on the country's poor air-safety record despite President Vladimir Putin's calls to improve controls. The pilot, co-pilot, flight engineer and a flight attendant were killed in the crash. The four other crew members are in a serious condition in the hospital.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

At least four killed in Russian plane crash

Saturday, December 29, 2012 - 01:06

Editors' Picks »

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)