Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Rape victim becomes martyr in India

Saturday, December 29, 2012 - 00:56

Dec. 29 - Thousands of people hold candle light vigil as people across India to seek justice for Delhi rape victim, who died in Singapore hospital. Deborah Lutterbeck reports

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Outcry across India after the death of a rape victim. They are calling for justice. A 23 year old medical student was raped by six men on a moving bus on the night of December 16th. In New Delhi protesters lie on the ground. The victim is now a martyr. (SOUNDBITE) (English) SHIVALI SINGH, A PROTESTER, SAYING: "We are not going to stop here. We see this as a struggle, our struggle for a better and a safer society for women Thousands hold candlelight vigils to mourn her death. The woman, severely beaten and raped had been thrown from the bus. She was flown to Singapore for treatment -- where she died. The government now faces criticism that it has been tone-deaf to the plight of women. In New Delhi a rape is reported every 18 hours.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Rape victim becomes martyr in India

Saturday, December 29, 2012 - 00:56

Top News »

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of November Images of November

Tue, 02 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Dateline Asia »

North Korea to blame for Sony hack: source North Korea to blame for Sony hack: source

Thu, 18 Dec, 2014 - (1:10)

China's house prices fall again China's house prices fall again

Thu, 18 Dec, 2014 - (1:10)

China's child labor problem China's child labor problem

Thu, 18 Dec, 2014 - (2:19)

Measuring up North Korea's heir Measuring up North Korea's heir

Wed, 17 Dec, 2014 - (1:03)

Russia worries rock emerging markets Russia worries rock emerging markets

Wed, 17 Dec, 2014 - (1:14)

Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:03)

Sydney in shock after hostage horror Sydney in shock after hostage horror

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:07)

Not all merry and bright in China's manufacturing sector Not all merry and bright in China's...

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:29)

Beneath the surface of Abe's big win Beneath the surface of Abe's big win

Mon, 15 Dec, 2014 - (1:15)

Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe

Mon, 15 Dec, 2014 - (1:06)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)