Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

No time to wait for the dead as gravediggers prepare for the worst in Syria

Sunday, 30 Dec, 2012 - 01:03

Dec. 30 - Volunteers prepare for the worst in Syria, digging graves amid expectations of a rising death toll. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

No time to wait for the dead in Syria. Gravediggers in the northern town of Azaz no longer wait for bombs to fall before they break the ground. The dead come too fast. . (SOUNDBITE) (Arabic) WORKMAN, ABU SOLIMAN, SAYING: "We are expecting anything from this despicable man, anything. I went with two children to the market to get some milk; suddenly the market went upside down. What was the children's guilt? What was my guilt? Or was it what I was carrying?" In 21 months of war, more than 45,000 people have been killed. Some fear they are digging their own graves. (SOUNDBITE) (Arabic) UNIDENTIFIED WORKMAN, SAYING: "I am digging the grave and it's possible that it will be for me, my brother, my mother, my sister, or for my neighbors or even for my country." Marble gravestones are tightly packed in the cemetery... there's little room left for more. Another legacy of what started as a popular uprising -- and descended into a bloodbath.

No time to wait for the dead as gravediggers prepare for the worst in Syria

Sunday, 30 Dec, 2012 - 01:03

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)