Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Obama: Failure to reach fiscal deal would hurt markets

Sunday, December 30, 2012 - 01:04

Dec. 30 - U.S. President Barack Obama tells NBC's Meet the Press that if Congress fails to resolve fiscal cliff it will hurt financial markets. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

U.S. President Barack Obama told NBC's Meet the Press that if Congress fails to avert the fiscal cliff, it will impact financial markets. (SOUNDBITE) (English) U.S. PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA SAYING (ENGLISH): "If people start seeing that on January 1st this problem still hasn't been solved, that we haven't seen the kind of deficit reduction that we could have had had the Republicans been willing to take the deal that I gave them ... then obviously that's going to have an adverse reaction in the markets," Without a deal $600 billion in tax hikes and federal spending cuts will begin to take effect January 1st. Obama signaled he was cautiously optimistic a deal can get done. (SOUNDBITE) (English) U.S. PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA SAYING (ENGLISH): "But we don't yet see an agreement. And now the pressure's on Congress to produce," The Senate is scheduled to hold a rare Sunday session in the afternoon and the House is expected to convene as well.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Obama: Failure to reach fiscal deal would hurt markets

Sunday, December 30, 2012 - 01:04

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)