Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Sports and Leisure

A 360 degree view at 322 kilometers an hour

Monday, 31 Dec, 2012 - 02:02

The world's first spherical 360-degree camera made by a Norwegian company is attached to a Formula One car, and could herald a change in the way racing is filmed in the future. Joel Flynn reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Of all the things we could have been when we grew up, being a Formula One driver may well have been pretty high on that list. The thrill and adrenalin of racing others at over 320 kilometers an hour. But while very few of us will ever get the chance to drive an F1 car, we may all be able to experience what it might be like soon enough. That's thanks to the ViewCam 360. It can show you an almost complete view of what's happening everywhere -- letting you see more than even the driver can. Norwegian company Making View are responsible for its creation. And according to CEO Are Vindfallet, it could revolutionise our viewing experience. (SOUNDBITE)(English) CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER AT MAKING VIEW, ARE VINDFALLET, SAYING: "Well I really think it's a big future for 360 content. It makes all the users out there experience interactive film, and when both YouTube and Vimeo and that kind of players are opening their technology for this technology. Really, this could burst 360 degree content, really, really at a very high level." It only weighs around 600 grammes, and Vindfallet says it can be mounted on anything -- from a plane to a helmet to even an athlete. He says that it'll make you want to rewatch videos over and over. (SOUNDBITE)(English) CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER AT MAKING VIEW, ARE VINDFALLET, SAYING: "We have a little payoff saying: "Like being there," because you have the feel that you attend a real event, because you control the whole video yourself. That also makes the users here want to see the video again and again and again, because you can, in different parts of the video, you can experience different things." Livestreaming the video in real time is surely next on the list for Making View. Until then the chance to ice skate downhill in 360 degrees could make watching sport just a little bit cooler.

A 360 degree view at 322 kilometers an hour

Monday, 31 Dec, 2012 - 02:02

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, 16 Jul, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, 25 Jun, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, 02 Jun, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, 27 May, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, 08 May, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, 05 May, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, 08 Apr, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, 24 Mar, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, 17 Mar, 2014 - (7:38)

Oddly Enough »

Fox kicks off "Simpsons" mega marathon Fox kicks off "Simpsons" mega marathon

Thu, 21 Aug, 2014 - (0:56)

Six-story tall duck floats into L.A. port Six-story tall duck floats into L.A. port

Thu, 21 Aug, 2014 - (1:02)

Young artist paints surreal illusions on bodies Young artist paints surreal illusions on...

Thu, 21 Aug, 2014 - (1:30)

Snow leopard cubs make Bronx Zoo debut Snow leopard cubs make Bronx Zoo debut

Wed, 20 Aug, 2014 - (0:41)

Eco-friendly bench keeps your tech fully charged Eco-friendly bench keeps your tech fully...

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (1:55)

A cheetah cub and a puppy make friends A cheetah cub and a puppy make friends

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (0:48)

Bug eaters unite in Tokyo Bug eaters unite in Tokyo

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (1:23)

Tango dancers put best feet forward Tango dancers put best feet forward

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (1:08)

Giraffe calf checks out new surroundings Giraffe calf checks out new surroundings

Mon, 18 Aug, 2014 - (0:42)

Bolivian priest blesses beloved pups Bolivian priest blesses beloved pups

Sun, 17 Aug, 2014 - (1:25)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, 06 Jun, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, 30 May, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, 14 Apr, 2014 - (3:28)