Reuters - Video

Edition: U.S. | U.K. | IN | CN

Video

Maduro offers Chavez health update

Wednesday, January 02, 2013 - 00:57

Maduro reassures the public President Chavez is aware of his condition. Julie Noce reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

EDIT CONTAINS 4:3 MATERIAL The successor to the ailing Hugo Chavez says the the president is aware of the severity of his condition. Vice President Nicolas Maduro is in Cuba where President Chavez is recovering from a fourth cancer operation. (SOUNDBITE) (Spanish) VICE PRESIDENT NICOLAS MADURO SAYING: " He is absolutely aware of the complex, post-operative phase and he expressly asked us to always keep the people informed..." Maduro urged Chavez supporters not to believe rumours that the 58-year old was close to death. Chavez suffered unexpected bleeding as result of a complex, six-hour operation on his pelvic region in December, and later had to fight off a respiratory infection. If Chavez steps down, new elections would be called within 30 days. Maduro would be the ruling Socialist Party candidate.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Maduro offers Chavez health update

Wednesday, January 02, 2013 - 00:57

Most Popular »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of December Images of December

Tue, 23 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Tsunami - unclaimed possessions Tsunami - unclaimed possessions

Tue, 23 Dec, 2014 - (2:23)

Images of November Images of November

Tue, 02 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Oddly Enough »

Thailand beach road becomes bed race track Thailand beach road becomes bed race track

Mon, 26 Jan, 2015 - (0:58)

Rhino born at Copenhagen Zoo Rhino born at Copenhagen Zoo

Mon, 26 Jan, 2015 - (0:46)

Robots dance in mass-games fashion Robots dance in mass-games fashion

Wed, 21 Jan, 2015 - (1:30)

India has most of the world's tigers India has most of the world's tigers

Wed, 21 Jan, 2015 - (1:22)

Cat saves abandoned baby Cat saves abandoned baby

Tue, 20 Jan, 2015 - (1:09)

Pope Francis - the musical Pope Francis - the musical

Sat, 17 Jan, 2015 - (1:35)

Dateline Asia »

Be afraid, the Chinese are spending less Be afraid, the Chinese are spending less

Mon, 26 Jan, 2015 - (1:33)

Asia markets toast ECB stimulus Asia markets toast ECB stimulus

Fri, 23 Jan, 2015 - (1:42)

Asia Week Ahead: Markets await Greece vote Asia Week Ahead: Markets await Greece vote

Fri, 23 Jan, 2015 - (1:18)

Netflix to push play in China Netflix to push play in China

Thu, 22 Jan, 2015 - (1:41)

Japan in a tight spot over hostage crisis Japan in a tight spot over hostage crisis

Thu, 22 Jan, 2015 - (1:05)

Behind the pretty face of K-pop Behind the pretty face of K-pop

Thu, 22 Jan, 2015 - (2:09)

Record slowdown in China's economic growth Record slowdown in China's economic growth

Tue, 20 Jan, 2015 - (1:52)

North Korean defector changes his story North Korean defector changes his story

Mon, 19 Jan, 2015 - (1:03)

China stocks hit by credit crackdown China stocks hit by credit crackdown

Mon, 19 Jan, 2015 - (1:16)

Xiaomi smartphones look to go global Xiaomi smartphones look to go global

Mon, 19 Jan, 2015 - (1:54)

Clamping down on China's toxic toys Clamping down on China's toxic toys

Fri, 16 Jan, 2015 - (1:11)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)