Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

World News

U.N.: More than 60,000 killed in Syria

Wednesday, January 02, 2013 - 00:59

Jan. 2 - On the day activists said at least 30 people died in a government air strike, the United Nations said more than 60,000 people have died in the uprising and civil war in Syria. Sarah Irwin reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

The United Nations now says more than 60,000 people have died in the uprising and civil war in Syria - 15,000 higher than previous estimated by monitoring groups. In the latest violence, activists said at least 30 civilians were killed in a government air strike on a gas station outside of Damascus. Amateur video that could not be independently verified by Reuters purportedly showed the aftermath of the raid by forces loyal to President Bashar al-Assad on Wednesday. Insurgents trying to topple Assad see his air power as their main threat. More video placed on a social media website on Tuesday - was said to show Assad's forces attacking the airport road in the capital city. As fighting between opponents and supporters of Assad shows no signs of ending, Syria's civil war is the longest and deadliest conflict to emerge from the uprisings that swept the Arab world in 2011.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

U.N.: More than 60,000 killed in Syria

Wednesday, January 02, 2013 - 00:59

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of November Images of November

Tue, 02 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Dateline Asia »

Measuring up North Korea's heir Measuring up North Korea's heir

6:51am GMT - (1:03)

Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:03)

Sydney in shock after hostage horror Sydney in shock after hostage horror

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:07)

Beneath the surface of Abe's big win Beneath the surface of Abe's big win

Mon, 15 Dec, 2014 - (1:15)

Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe

Mon, 15 Dec, 2014 - (1:06)

Abe eyes big win in Japan election Abe eyes big win in Japan election

Sun, 14 Dec, 2014 - (1:00)

Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame

Fri, 12 Dec, 2014 - (1:40)

Asian markets rattled by oil price drop Asian markets rattled by oil price drop

Thu, 11 Dec, 2014 - (1:14)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)