Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Men accused in Delhi rape case in brief court session

Thursday, January 10, 2013 - 00:38

Jan. 10 - Five men accused of raping and murdering an Indian student in New Delihi arrive at court. Simon Hanna reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

TV AND WEB RESTRICTIONS~**NO ACCESS BBC**~ A police convoy arrives at a New Delhi court, carrying five men accused of raping and murdering an Indian student in December. The victim was beaten and gang raped on a moving bus in the Indian capital, then thrown bleeding into the street. She died two weeks later, and the case sparked outrage in India towards the government the police and those accused. The five men are facing various charges including murder rape and abduction, while a sixth who claims to be 17 will appear before a Juvenile Justice Board. On Thursday a lawyer filed papers in court to defend two of the men. Three of the accused will plead not guilty. The trial is being conducted in a special fast track process set up after the attack. But some legal experts have warned that previous attempts to fast track justice in India had, in some cases, led to imperfect convictions that were later challenged in court.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Men accused in Delhi rape case in brief court session

Thursday, January 10, 2013 - 00:38

Top News »

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Oddly Enough »

Ancient baby mammoth on display in Moscow Ancient baby mammoth on display in Moscow

Wed, 29 Oct, 2014 - (1:14)

Snow leopard arrives at Mexico zoo Snow leopard arrives at Mexico zoo

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (0:59)

Horse rescued from swimming pool Horse rescued from swimming pool

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (0:30)

Surfing in a different sort of costume Surfing in a different sort of costume

Mon, 27 Oct, 2014 - (1:10)

Skateboards get rock star makeovers Skateboards get rock star makeovers

Thu, 23 Oct, 2014 - (1:28)

Giant rubber duck on show in Shanghai Giant rubber duck on show in Shanghai

Thu, 23 Oct, 2014 - (1:06)

Black bear cub goes Sunday shopping Black bear cub goes Sunday shopping

Thu, 23 Oct, 2014 - (0:27)

Christie's opens new Shanghai office Christie's opens new Shanghai office

Wed, 22 Oct, 2014 - (1:13)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)