Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Thousands gather for rally supporting Chavez

Thursday, January 10, 2013 - 00:57

Jan. 10 - Thousands of Venezuelans took to the streets for a rally in support of ailing President Hugo Chavez. Sarah Irwin reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Heads of state arrive in Caracas on Thursday - for a rally honoring ailing Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez. A military honor guard welcomed Bolivia's President Evo Morales and President Daniel Ortega of Nicaragua - on the day Chavez should have been sworn in for a new six-year term. But, as thousands of Venezuelans took to the streets of the capital city to support Chavez - the 58-year-old president was confined to his sickbed in Cuba. Ali Bazan attended the rally - dressed like the South American OPEC nation leader. (SOUNDBITE) (SPANISH) ALI BAZAN, RALLY ATTENDEE, SAYING: " I look like Chavez, but not only in the physical, but also in my ideas and everything having to do with the Comandante." Chavez has not been seen in public for almost a month - since having surgery in Cuba. Critics said because he could not attend his own inauguration - a caretaker president should be appointed.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Thousands gather for rally supporting Chavez

Thursday, January 10, 2013 - 00:57

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)