Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Thousands gather for rally supporting Chavez

Thursday, 10 Jan, 2013 - 00:57

Jan. 10 - Thousands of Venezuelans took to the streets for a rally in support of ailing President Hugo Chavez. Sarah Irwin reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Heads of state arrive in Caracas on Thursday - for a rally honoring ailing Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez. A military honor guard welcomed Bolivia's President Evo Morales and President Daniel Ortega of Nicaragua - on the day Chavez should have been sworn in for a new six-year term. But, as thousands of Venezuelans took to the streets of the capital city to support Chavez - the 58-year-old president was confined to his sickbed in Cuba. Ali Bazan attended the rally - dressed like the South American OPEC nation leader. (SOUNDBITE) (SPANISH) ALI BAZAN, RALLY ATTENDEE, SAYING: " I look like Chavez, but not only in the physical, but also in my ideas and everything having to do with the Comandante." Chavez has not been seen in public for almost a month - since having surgery in Cuba. Critics said because he could not attend his own inauguration - a caretaker president should be appointed.

Thousands gather for rally supporting Chavez

Thursday, 10 Jan, 2013 - 00:57

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, 16 Jul, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, 25 Jun, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, 02 Jun, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, 27 May, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, 08 May, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, 05 May, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, 08 Apr, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, 24 Mar, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, 17 Mar, 2014 - (7:38)

Oddly Enough »

Eco-friendly bench keeps your tech fully charged Eco-friendly bench keeps your tech fully...

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (1:55)

A cheetah cub and a puppy make friends A cheetah cub and a puppy make friends

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (0:48)

Bug eaters unite in Tokyo Bug eaters unite in Tokyo

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (1:23)

Tango dancers put best feet forward Tango dancers put best feet forward

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (1:08)

Giraffe calf checks out new surroundings Giraffe calf checks out new surroundings

Mon, 18 Aug, 2014 - (0:42)

Bolivian priest blesses beloved pups Bolivian priest blesses beloved pups

Sun, 17 Aug, 2014 - (1:25)

Gamescom opens to the public Gamescom opens to the public

Thu, 14 Aug, 2014 - (1:05)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, 06 Jun, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, 30 May, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, 14 Apr, 2014 - (3:28)