Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Maliki supporters march in Baghdad

Saturday, January 12, 2013 - 01:07

Jan. 12 - Supporters of the Iraqi Shia Prime Minister Nuri al-Maliki march in Baghdad, responding to three weeks of Sunni protests. Adam Brauner reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

These demonstrators, numbering in the thousands, are supporting Shia Iraqi Prime Minister Nuri al-Maliki in Baghdad on Saturday, and they are responding to ongoing Sunni protests. Three weeks of Sunni protests started in December after the Finance Minister Rafaie al-Esawi's bodyguards and staff were detained on terrorism charges. Sunni leaders saw this as a crackdown on their sect, and say the Shia-led government has marginalized their minority community. This demonstrator says pro-Maliki protesters oppose Sunni demands, which range from Maliki's removal to the release of detainees and the suspension of an abused anti-terrorism law claimed to target Sunnis. This man is against sectarian fighting. (SOUNDBITE)(Arabic) MATHEL ATHAB, A DEMONSTRATOR, SAYING: "We are here to denounce the sectarianism. No, no to division and no, no to sectarianism. We, Sunnis and Shia, are brothers and we will not sell this country, we call for Iraqis to be cautious of sectarians, the politicians who seek to divide the country." The unrest is turning into the most serious challenge yet for Maliki, who has made small concessions to the Sunni protesters without results.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Maliki supporters march in Baghdad

Saturday, January 12, 2013 - 01:07

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

Oddly Enough »

Ancient baby mammoth on display in Moscow Ancient baby mammoth on display in Moscow

Wed, 29 Oct, 2014 - (1:14)

Snow leopard arrives at Mexico zoo Snow leopard arrives at Mexico zoo

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (0:59)

Horse rescued from swimming pool Horse rescued from swimming pool

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (0:30)

Surfing in a different sort of costume Surfing in a different sort of costume

Mon, 27 Oct, 2014 - (1:10)

Skateboards get rock star makeovers Skateboards get rock star makeovers

Thu, 23 Oct, 2014 - (1:28)

Giant rubber duck on show in Shanghai Giant rubber duck on show in Shanghai

Thu, 23 Oct, 2014 - (1:06)

Black bear cub goes Sunday shopping Black bear cub goes Sunday shopping

Thu, 23 Oct, 2014 - (0:27)

Christie's opens new Shanghai office Christie's opens new Shanghai office

Wed, 22 Oct, 2014 - (1:13)

White lion cubs unveiled to the public White lion cubs unveiled to the public

Tue, 21 Oct, 2014 - (1:01)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)