Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Pakistani Shi'ites hold vigil to mourn 96 bomb victims

Saturday, January 12, 2013 - 00:57

Jan. 12 - Family members of the 96 people killed in twin bombings in Quetta are refusing to bury the dead until the government takes action against the group responsible for the attack. Deborah Gembara reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Thousands of protesters in Pakistan gathered for a second night in the rain to protest one of the worst sectarian attacks in the country's history. Beside them were the bodies of the 96 people killed in an attack in Quetta. They've vowed not to bury their dead until authorities take action on the Sunni militant group responsible for the attack. They spread plastic sheets over the shrouded bodies to protect them from the rain. Many here believe the government hasn't done enough to protect Shi'ites who are a minority in the country. Muslim tradition requires that the dead be buried as soon as possible. The family's decision to sit vigil with the bodies --- a clear religious taboo --- has prompted shows of support for the Shi'ites throughout the country.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Pakistani Shi'ites hold vigil to mourn 96 bomb victims

Saturday, January 12, 2013 - 00:57

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Oddly Enough »

Buffalo on a rampage injures 14 in China Buffalo on a rampage injures 14 in China

Tue, 25 Nov, 2014 - (0:30)

Thailand hosts the largest gathering of Santa's Elves Thailand hosts the largest gathering of...

Tue, 25 Nov, 2014 - (0:54)

Yellow-spotted turtles rescued from trafficking Yellow-spotted turtles rescued from...

Mon, 24 Nov, 2014 - (0:44)

Birds around the world take flight Birds around the world take flight

Sat, 22 Nov, 2014 - (2:00)

Calling all men: here's your chance to experience labor pains Calling all men: here's your chance to...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:43)

Annie Leibovitz showcases historic "Pilgrimage" Annie Leibovitz showcases historic...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:38)

Block-long billboard lights up Times Square Block-long billboard lights up Times Square

Wed, 19 Nov, 2014 - (1:19)

Japan’s military gets sexy Japan’s military gets sexy

Tue, 18 Nov, 2014 - (1:30)

Paris turns on holiday spirit Paris turns on holiday spirit

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:02)