Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Hundreds hospitalized in Japan after sudden snow

Monday, January 14, 2013 - 00:57

Jan 14 - An unexpected snow storm in eastern Japan halts public transportation and causes hundreds of road accidents. Sarah Sheffer reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

An unexpected snowstorm in eastern Japan causes dozens of road accidents, injuring hundreds after snow started falling early Monday morning. The sudden snow shut down public transportation, cancelled almost 900 domestic flights and halted some trains in the Metropolitan Tokyo area. The wintery weather proved especially inconvenient for a group of young women wearing traditional Kimono outfits to celebrate their transition into "adulthood," or the Coming of Age Day in Japan. But for others the snow made for fun and merriment. This ten-year old girl who made a snowman with her father says it's the first time she has seen snow in Tokyo. Authorities said the snow will continue to fall in some areas in northern Japan over the night and called for commuters to take caution on icy roads.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Hundreds hospitalized in Japan after sudden snow

Monday, January 14, 2013 - 00:57

Editors' Picks »

Moving Pictures »

Images of November Images of November

Tue, 02 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Dateline Asia »

Sinking Jakarta embarks on seawall project Sinking Jakarta embarks on seawall project

Thu, 18 Dec, 2014 - (2:22)

No Christmas easing from the Bank of Japan No Christmas easing from the Bank of Japan

Fri, 19 Dec, 2014 - (1:59)

North Korea to blame for Sony hack: source North Korea to blame for Sony hack: source

Thu, 18 Dec, 2014 - (1:10)

China's house prices fall again China's house prices fall again

Thu, 18 Dec, 2014 - (1:10)

China's child labor problem China's child labor problem

Thu, 18 Dec, 2014 - (2:19)

Measuring up North Korea's heir Measuring up North Korea's heir

Wed, 17 Dec, 2014 - (1:03)

Russia worries rock emerging markets Russia worries rock emerging markets

Wed, 17 Dec, 2014 - (1:14)

Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:03)

Sydney in shock after hostage horror Sydney in shock after hostage horror

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:07)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)