Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Hundreds hospitalized in Japan after sudden snow

Monday, January 14, 2013 - 00:57

Jan 14 - An unexpected snow storm in eastern Japan halts public transportation and causes hundreds of road accidents. Sarah Sheffer reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

An unexpected snowstorm in eastern Japan causes dozens of road accidents, injuring hundreds after snow started falling early Monday morning. The sudden snow shut down public transportation, cancelled almost 900 domestic flights and halted some trains in the Metropolitan Tokyo area. The wintery weather proved especially inconvenient for a group of young women wearing traditional Kimono outfits to celebrate their transition into "adulthood," or the Coming of Age Day in Japan. But for others the snow made for fun and merriment. This ten-year old girl who made a snowman with her father says it's the first time she has seen snow in Tokyo. Authorities said the snow will continue to fall in some areas in northern Japan over the night and called for commuters to take caution on icy roads.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Hundreds hospitalized in Japan after sudden snow

Monday, January 14, 2013 - 00:57

Top News »

Oddly Enough »

In the ink at the London Tattoo Convention In the ink at the London Tattoo Convention

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (1:01)

Gromit to go in Hong Kong Gromit to go in Hong Kong

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (1:15)

Rare white waterbuck calf at San Diego Zoo Rare white waterbuck calf at San Diego Zoo

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (0:38)

Weekly animal round up Weekly animal round up

Sun, 28 Sep, 2014 - (1:07)

Japanese company unveils robot cheerleaders Japanese company unveils robot cheerleaders

Thu, 25 Sep, 2014 - (1:09)

Polo players ride yaks in popular event Polo players ride yaks in popular event

Tue, 23 Sep, 2014 - (1:27)

Cheers! It's time for Oktoberfest Cheers! It's time for Oktoberfest

Mon, 22 Sep, 2014 - (1:15)

Tiger-mania roars across Russia Tiger-mania roars across Russia

Mon, 22 Sep, 2014 - (1:05)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)