Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Thousands gather in Islamabad

Tuesday, January 15, 2013 - 00:59

Jan 15 - Tens of thousands gather in Pakistani capital calling for an end to corruption. Julie Noce reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

TV AND WEB RESTRICTIONS~**NO ACCESS PAKISTAN EDIT CONTAINS 4:3 MATERIAL They began assembling early Tuesday morning in front of Parliament House in Islamabad... tens of thousands of demonstrators hoping to shut down the government. Supporters of populist Pakistani cleric Muhammad Tahirul Qadri - group is calling for an end to government corruption and for delayed elections. As day broke, protesters remained-- many held signs and pictures of Qadri, others danced and cheered. During a speech to the masses, Qadri stressed the democratic and constitutional nature of the demonstration. (SOUNDBITE) (English) SUFI CLERIC MUHAMMAD TAHIRUL QADRI SAYING: "This is green revolution, this is peaceful revolution, this is democratic revolution, this is constitutional revolution, this is lawful revolution." His calls for a revolution have divided Pakistanis. Some hold him up as a champion of reform, others see him as a stooge of the military, which has a history of coups and interfering in elections.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Thousands gather in Islamabad

Tuesday, January 15, 2013 - 00:59

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of November Images of November

Tue, 02 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Dateline Asia »

Measuring up North Korea's heir Measuring up North Korea's heir

Wed, 17 Dec, 2014 - (1:03)

Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:03)

Sydney in shock after hostage horror Sydney in shock after hostage horror

Tue, 16 Dec, 2014 - (1:07)

Beneath the surface of Abe's big win Beneath the surface of Abe's big win

Mon, 15 Dec, 2014 - (1:15)

Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe

Mon, 15 Dec, 2014 - (1:06)

Abe eyes big win in Japan election Abe eyes big win in Japan election

Sun, 14 Dec, 2014 - (1:00)

Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame

Fri, 12 Dec, 2014 - (1:40)

Asian markets rattled by oil price drop Asian markets rattled by oil price drop

Thu, 11 Dec, 2014 - (1:14)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)