Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Delayed aid approved for Sandy victims

Wednesday, 16 Jan, 2013 - 01:17

Jan. 16 - The House of Representatives approves $50.5 billion in federal disaster aid to victims of Superstorm Sandy, as residents vent their frustration at the delay. Sarah Charlton reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

For this area of Staten Island, not much has changed since superstorm Sandy battered the northeast last year. Federal aid has been tied up amid political budget brawling - which has left many storm victims wondering when help will arrive. Now, over 50 billion dollars in disaster aid has been approved by the House of Representatives. But some residents here are infuriated by the long delay. SOUNDBITE: SALVATORE PAPPALARDO, STATEN ISLAND RESIDENT, SAYING (English): "Everybody's a human being and since they're representing us, they have to represent us the right way. Stop being a Democratic or Republican, just get together and work this damn thing out." SOUNDBITE: SAM CALCATERRA, STATEN ISLAND RESIDENT, SAYING (English): "They should get off their butts and get the job done, you know. We voted them in for things like this and we pay for this, so I think they should get off their butts and do their job and get the people back in their houses and get the businesses back where they are." The federal aid package is approved in two parts - with 17 billion covering immediate disaster relief and a further 33 billion for longer-term reconstruction. It now moves to the Senate where it's expected to be quickly approved.

Delayed aid approved for Sandy victims

Wednesday, 16 Jan, 2013 - 01:17

Editors' Picks »

Oddly Enough »

Mexico dishes up creepy crawly fare Mexico dishes up creepy crawly fare

Sun, 14 Sep, 2014 - (1:31)

Lion cubs the pride of San Diego Zoo Lion cubs the pride of San Diego Zoo

Sat, 13 Sep, 2014 - (0:46)

Holy cow, get me outta here! Holy cow, get me outta here!

Tue, 09 Sep, 2014 - (0:21)

Enough tacos to feed a village Enough tacos to feed a village

Mon, 08 Sep, 2014 - (0:46)

Giant rabbit just laying about in Taiwan Giant rabbit just laying about in Taiwan

Mon, 08 Sep, 2014 - (1:07)

This is one very large order of beer This is one very large order of beer

Mon, 08 Sep, 2014 - (1:24)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)