Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Delayed aid approved for Sandy victims

Wednesday, January 16, 2013 - 01:17

Jan. 16 - The House of Representatives approves $50.5 billion in federal disaster aid to victims of Superstorm Sandy, as residents vent their frustration at the delay. Sarah Charlton reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

For this area of Staten Island, not much has changed since superstorm Sandy battered the northeast last year. Federal aid has been tied up amid political budget brawling - which has left many storm victims wondering when help will arrive. Now, over 50 billion dollars in disaster aid has been approved by the House of Representatives. But some residents here are infuriated by the long delay. SOUNDBITE: SALVATORE PAPPALARDO, STATEN ISLAND RESIDENT, SAYING (English): "Everybody's a human being and since they're representing us, they have to represent us the right way. Stop being a Democratic or Republican, just get together and work this damn thing out." SOUNDBITE: SAM CALCATERRA, STATEN ISLAND RESIDENT, SAYING (English): "They should get off their butts and get the job done, you know. We voted them in for things like this and we pay for this, so I think they should get off their butts and do their job and get the people back in their houses and get the businesses back where they are." The federal aid package is approved in two parts - with 17 billion covering immediate disaster relief and a further 33 billion for longer-term reconstruction. It now moves to the Senate where it's expected to be quickly approved.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Delayed aid approved for Sandy victims

Wednesday, January 16, 2013 - 01:17

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Oddly Enough »

Calling all men: here's your chance to experience labor pains Calling all men: here's your chance to...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:43)

Annie Leibovitz showcases historic "Pilgrimage" Annie Leibovitz showcases historic...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:38)

Block-long billboard lights up Times Square Block-long billboard lights up Times Square

Wed, 19 Nov, 2014 - (1:19)

Japan’s military gets sexy Japan’s military gets sexy

Tue, 18 Nov, 2014 - (1:30)

Paris turns on holiday spirit Paris turns on holiday spirit

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (1:32)

A whale of a tale A whale of a tale

Fri, 14 Nov, 2014 - (0:32)

Sandcastle hits new heights Sandcastle hits new heights

Wed, 12 Nov, 2014 - (0:59)

Rothko and Jasper Johns are top lots at Sotheby's Rothko and Jasper Johns are top lots at...

Wed, 12 Nov, 2014 - (1:52)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)