Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Finance Videos

Japanese airlines ground Dreamliners

Wednesday, January 16, 2013 - 01:21

Jan. 16 - Japan's two leading airlines ground their fleets of Boeing 787s as one of the Dreamliner passenger jets make an emergency landing. Sarah Charlton reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Passengers on a Boeing 787 Dreamliner head to the emergency slides, after their plane was forced to land due to a malfunction. Pilots on the All Nippon Airways (ANA) Dreamliner made the emergency landing in Japan on Wednesday (January 16), after an apparent battery error triggered warnings in the cockpit. Witnesses said there was a strong burning smell on the plane. It's the latest and most serious incident to hit the Dreamliner, which is the world's first mainly carbon-composite airliner. SOUNDBITE: UNIDENTIFIED PASSENGER SAYING (Japanese): "As we were going down for the emergency landing, the cabin attendant's voice was actually shaking so I realized that this was actually pretty bad." At a news conference, officials from ANA apologised for causing passengers grief and said planes are grounded for the time being. Japan Airlines has also suspended Dreamliner flights. The two Japanese airlines operate around half of the 50 Dreamliners currently delivered by Boeing. Japan and the U.S. have opened investigations into the plane.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Japanese airlines ground Dreamliners

Wednesday, January 16, 2013 - 01:21

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Oddly Enough »

Calling all men: here's your chance to experience labor pains Calling all men: here's your chance to...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:43)

Annie Leibovitz showcases historic "Pilgrimage" Annie Leibovitz showcases historic...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:38)

Block-long billboard lights up Times Square Block-long billboard lights up Times Square

Wed, 19 Nov, 2014 - (1:19)

Japan’s military gets sexy Japan’s military gets sexy

Tue, 18 Nov, 2014 - (1:30)

Paris turns on holiday spirit Paris turns on holiday spirit

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (1:32)

A whale of a tale A whale of a tale

Fri, 14 Nov, 2014 - (0:32)

Sandcastle hits new heights Sandcastle hits new heights

Wed, 12 Nov, 2014 - (0:59)

Rothko and Jasper Johns are top lots at Sotheby's Rothko and Jasper Johns are top lots at...

Wed, 12 Nov, 2014 - (1:52)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)