Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

FAA officials inspect Dreamliner

Friday, 18 Jan, 2013 - 01:05

Jan. 18 - Aviation officials from the U.S. inspect a Boeing 787 Dreamliner in Japan after an emergency landing prompted a worldwide grounding of the jets. Julie Noce reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

~** NO ACCESS JAPAN/CNN/CNNI/CLEARED FOR INTERNET USE, EXCEPT BY JAPANESE WEBSITES /CNBC AND NBC CANNOT REBROADCAST TO JAPAN WITHOUT PRIOR AGREEMENT WITH TBS. BBC WORLD MUST ON-SCREEN COURTESY TBS IF PICTURES TO BE SHOWN ON CABLE OR COMMUNICATIONS SATELLITE SERVICES IN JAPAN/CANNOT RE-USE AFTER 30 DAYS FROM TRANSMISSION WITHOUT PERMISSION FROM TBS **~ Aviation inspectors from the U.S. board a grounded Boeing 787 Dreamliner in Japan to investigate whether a worldwide no fly ban should be lifted. The fleet was grounded after an All Nippon Airways Dreamliner made an emergency landing earlier this week due to problems with the jet's battery. Federal Aviation Administration investigator, Eric West. (SOUNDBITE) (English) U.S. FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION (FAA) INVESTIGATOR ERIC WEST, SAYING: "We're here to look at the situation and that's it for now. We don't have much information at all." The Japanese Transport Safety Board said the battery from the grounded ANA flight was blackened and carbonised and is currently being inspected. Some analysts say the grounding could cost ANA alone more than 1.1 million US dollars per day. Japan is the biggest market for the Dreamliner, with ANA and local rival Japan Airlines operating almost half of the 50 Dreamliners in service. Japan Airlines has since cancelled eight flights between Tokyo and San Diego affecting nearly 1300 passengers.

FAA officials inspect Dreamliner

Friday, 18 Jan, 2013 - 01:05

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, 16 Jul, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, 25 Jun, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, 02 Jun, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, 27 May, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, 08 May, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, 05 May, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, 08 Apr, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, 24 Mar, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, 17 Mar, 2014 - (7:38)

Oddly Enough »

Eco-friendly bench keeps your tech fully charged Eco-friendly bench keeps your tech fully...

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (1:55)

A cheetah cub and a puppy make friends A cheetah cub and a puppy make friends

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (0:48)

Bug eaters unite in Tokyo Bug eaters unite in Tokyo

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (1:23)

Tango dancers put best feet forward Tango dancers put best feet forward

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (1:08)

Giraffe calf checks out new surroundings Giraffe calf checks out new surroundings

Mon, 18 Aug, 2014 - (0:42)

Bolivian priest blesses beloved pups Bolivian priest blesses beloved pups

Sun, 17 Aug, 2014 - (1:25)

Gamescom opens to the public Gamescom opens to the public

Thu, 14 Aug, 2014 - (1:05)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, 06 Jun, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, 30 May, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, 14 Apr, 2014 - (3:28)