Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

France not backing down deploying more troops to Mali

Friday, 18 Jan, 2013 - 01:21

Jan. 18 - More French troops arrive in Mali as residents welcome their arrival amid hopes that life can return to normal. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

France is not backing down deploying more troops in Mali. . Despite threats from militants to attack French interests globally, France now has 1,800 troops on the ground in Mali. The first apparent retaliatory attack, came earlier in the week when al Qaeda-linked militants took dozens of foreigners hostage in Algeria, blaming Algerian cooperation with France France has pledged to keep troops on the ground until stability returns. For many, the French troops are a welcome sight. There are unconfirmed reports that one town has already been recaptured from the rebels. France ordered the intervention in Mali saying Islamists could turn the northern part of the country into a "terrorist state." SOUNDBITE)(French) KOURA COULIBALY, SARAKALA HEALTH CENTRE NURSE, SAYING: "At the beginning we were afraid. But now where we are today, thank God these soldiers are here, all around us." A total of 2,500 French troops are expected in Mali but Paris is keen to swiftly hand the mission over to West African forces following a U.N. mandate to help Mali recapture its north.

France not backing down deploying more troops to Mali

Friday, 18 Jan, 2013 - 01:21

Editors' Picks »

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)