Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Jakarta floods forces tens of thousands out of their homes

Friday, January 18, 2013 - 01:01

Jan. 18 - Almost 20,000 people are stranded in shelters despite receding floods in Indonesia's capital Jakarta that turned streets into rivers. Sarah Sheffer reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

One of Jakarta's main throughfares - now a river of red mud. Unusually heavy monsoon rains have submerged parts of the Indonesian capital in waist-deep water. The flooding has made around 20,000 people homeless, and killed at least 11. A spokesman from Indonesia's National Disaster Mitigation Agency says the flood waters covered over 40 kilometres of the city of 12.5 million people. Soldiers using an excavator struggled to stem a rush of water after a large section of a canal burst, sending a torrent of dirty water into the heart of the capital. Though flooding eased on Friday, authorities are warning of more rain to come. Many parts of Indonesia are regularly inundated during the annual rainy season, challenging an already strained transport system. But the flooding is the worst the capital has seen in six years

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Jakarta floods forces tens of thousands out of their homes

Friday, January 18, 2013 - 01:01

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

Oddly Enough »

Giant rubber duck on show in Shanghai Giant rubber duck on show in Shanghai

Thu, 23 Oct, 2014 - (1:06)

Black bear cub goes Sunday shopping Black bear cub goes Sunday shopping

Thu, 23 Oct, 2014 - (0:27)

Christie's opens new Shanghai office Christie's opens new Shanghai office

Wed, 22 Oct, 2014 - (1:13)

White lion cubs unveiled to the public White lion cubs unveiled to the public

Tue, 21 Oct, 2014 - (1:01)

Ebola Halloween getup stirs controversy Ebola Halloween getup stirs controversy

Tue, 21 Oct, 2014 - (1:14)

Cuddly Ebola toy almost wiped out Cuddly Ebola toy almost wiped out

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (0:34)

New MoMA exhibit cut out for Matisse New MoMA exhibit cut out for Matisse

Thu, 16 Oct, 2014 - (1:28)

London's Frieze art fair tests your senses London's Frieze art fair tests your senses

Thu, 16 Oct, 2014 - (1:28)

Paris streets become gallery for Plato-inspired sculptures Paris streets become gallery for...

Wed, 15 Oct, 2014 - (1:21)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)