Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Residents abandon homes in northern town

Friday, January 18, 2013 - 01:26

Jan. 18 - Residents are caught in the crossfire as troops battle to flush out Islamists in Mali. Lily Grimes reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Malians are caught in the conflict between Islamists and government troops. One woman fleeing Diabaly said Islamists who had taken the town hid in civilian homes when the French airstrikes began. French forces held off a full ground assault there as a result. (SOUNDBITE) (Bambara) UNNAMED DISPLACED WOMAN FROM DIABALY, SAYING: "Islamists travel in pick-up trucks and when they hear the noise of the planes they run and hide inside our houses. We realised that we were not safe. That's why we decided to leave. We left with heavy hearts. The only things we have are what we are wearing now." The UN refugee agency says up to 700,000 people could be uprooted by the violence in the coming months. This as French forces realise the Islamist militants are better trained and equipped than they first thought, according to UN diplomats. The Islamist coalition, which includes al Qaeda's North African wing, has been united by the threat of foreign military intervention. A first batch of Nigerian troops left on Thursday to beef up Malian, French and Togolese troops. More African forces are due to join a UN-mandated African mission. A total of 2,500 French troops are expected in Mali but Paris is keen to hand over to the UN-backed regional force.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Residents abandon homes in northern town

Friday, January 18, 2013 - 01:26

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Oddly Enough »

Japan’s military gets sexy Japan’s military gets sexy

Tue, 18 Nov, 2014 - (1:30)

Paris turns on holiday spirit Paris turns on holiday spirit

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (1:32)

A whale of a tale A whale of a tale

Fri, 14 Nov, 2014 - (0:32)

Sandcastle hits new heights Sandcastle hits new heights

Wed, 12 Nov, 2014 - (0:59)

Rothko and Jasper Johns are top lots at Sotheby's Rothko and Jasper Johns are top lots at...

Wed, 12 Nov, 2014 - (1:52)

Obama's gum habit lands him in sticky situation Obama's gum habit lands him in sticky...

Wed, 12 Nov, 2014 - (1:05)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)