Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Seeking shelter in Mali

Friday, January 18, 2013 - 00:49

Jan. 18 - Malians lack shelter, clothing and food as they flee conflict in the country. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

People line up in Mali -- hoping to board a bus to take them to safety. Many have packed up what they can. They come from a town that had been seized by Islamists earlier in the week. The mayor now says that French and Malian soldiers are now in control -- following a French air strike. But that has not stopped the fear. (SOUNDBITE)(French) AMADOU BOKAM, DISPLACED MAN FROM DIABALY, SAYING: "People are terrorised. They are in horrible shape. Many did not bring anything with them. They search for shelter. Everyone's searching for shelter where we can." Up to 700,000 people are expected to be uprooted by the violence. Now many head into an uncertain future having already lost so much from the past.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Seeking shelter in Mali

Friday, January 18, 2013 - 00:49

Editors' Picks »

Oddly Enough »

Fake and bake lawn care Fake and bake lawn care

11:15am BST - (1:02)

Pillow fight record smashed Pillow fight record smashed

Wed, 01 Oct, 2014 - (0:58)

Never too old to fly a hot-air balloon Never too old to fly a hot-air balloon

Tue, 30 Sep, 2014 - (0:51)

Never too old to fly a hot-air balloon Never too old to fly a hot-air balloon

Tue, 30 Sep, 2014 - (0:51)

Brazilian artist grows bamboo to make instruments Brazilian artist grows bamboo to make...

Tue, 30 Sep, 2014 - (1:12)

Dogs hang ten Dogs hang ten

Tue, 30 Sep, 2014 - (0:28)

In the ink at the London Tattoo Convention In the ink at the London Tattoo Convention

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (1:01)

Gromit to go in Hong Kong Gromit to go in Hong Kong

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (1:15)

Rare white waterbuck calf at San Diego Zoo Rare white waterbuck calf at San Diego Zoo

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (0:38)

Weekly animal round up Weekly animal round up

Sun, 28 Sep, 2014 - (1:07)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)