Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Algerian army stages "final assault" on gas plant

Saturday, 19 Jan, 2013 - 01:19

Jan. 19 - Hostages in Algeria recall their ordeals as government forces launch final assault on gas plant under siege. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

. Soldiers guard a checkpoint in Algeria just outside a desert gas plant that is still under siege. Authorities block access as the army carries out a "final assault" on al Qaeda-linked gunmen holed up in the plant. Algerian forces reportedly killed 11 Islamists after they took the lives of seven foreign hostages. Survivors are treated in Algiers. The number and fate of victims has yet to be confirmed. One man recounts the ordeal. (SOUNDBITE) (Arabic) UNIDENTIFIED MAN, SAYING: "They attacked us at 5:30 in the morning. When we heard the shooting we all went out to see what was happening, so then we ran and hid. Some of us died and some hid in bedrooms. Some of the terrorists followed us to the bedrooms." In London, Foreign Secretary William Hague says the crisis is not over. SOUNDBITE (English) BRITISH FOREIGN MINISTER WILLIAM HAGUE, SAYING: "As of now there are fewer than 10 British nationals at risk or unaccounted for, but that of course means that we must continue to prepare ourselves for bad news." Estimates on the number of hostages killed range from 12 to 30. Many foreigners are still unaccounted for.

Algerian army stages "final assault" on gas plant

Saturday, 19 Jan, 2013 - 01:19

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, 16 Jul, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, 25 Jun, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, 02 Jun, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, 27 May, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, 08 May, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, 05 May, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, 08 Apr, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, 24 Mar, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, 17 Mar, 2014 - (7:38)

Oddly Enough »

Eco-friendly bench keeps your tech fully charged Eco-friendly bench keeps your tech fully...

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (1:55)

A cheetah cub and a puppy make friends A cheetah cub and a puppy make friends

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (0:48)

Bug eaters unite in Tokyo Bug eaters unite in Tokyo

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (1:23)

Tango dancers put best feet forward Tango dancers put best feet forward

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (1:08)

Giraffe calf checks out new surroundings Giraffe calf checks out new surroundings

Mon, 18 Aug, 2014 - (0:42)

Bolivian priest blesses beloved pups Bolivian priest blesses beloved pups

Sun, 17 Aug, 2014 - (1:25)

Gamescom opens to the public Gamescom opens to the public

Thu, 14 Aug, 2014 - (1:05)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, 06 Jun, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, 30 May, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, 14 Apr, 2014 - (3:28)