Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Connecticut woman turns guns into jewelry

Wednesday, 23 Jan, 2013 - 01:24

Jan. 23 - Jeweler creates bracelets from melted down guns and bullet casings. Julie Noce reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

It's not your average $300 designer bracelet... this piece of jewelry started out as, this. The jewelry line is called The Caliber Collection-- and is made from melted down weapons seized by police in Newark, New Jersey. Jessica Mindich is the CEO and founder of Jewelry for a Cause. (SOUNDBITE) (English) JESSICA MINDICH, CEO AND FOUNDER OF JEWELRY FOR A CAUSE, SAYING: "The Caliber Collection is a line of jewelry made in part from illegal guns and brass shell casings taken off the streets of Newark, New Jersey and a portion of the proceeds go back to Newark Police Department to benefit their gun buy-back/amnesty program." In taking the weapons off the street, crimes rates in Newark have gone down. Newark Police Director Samuel Demaio. (SOUNDBITE) (English) SAMUEL DEMAIO, NEWARK POLICE DIRECTOR, SAYING: "Last year, we had almost a record-setting year with taking guns off the street, over 855 guns and for a year we saw a reduction in murder, for the first time in several years. There is definitely a correlation with taking guns off the street and seeing your murder and shooting rate drop." The first series of bracelets went on sale in late November of 2012, but Mindich says sales have soared since the shooting incident at an elementary school in Connecticut. The price of the bracelets range from $150 for the steel cuff to $375 for the brass bangle with diamonds.

Connecticut woman turns guns into jewelry

Wednesday, 23 Jan, 2013 - 01:24

Oddly Enough »

Riding a bike "side-saddle" Riding a bike "side-saddle"

Thu, 18 Sep, 2014 - (1:10)

Celebs speak up in Scottish independence debate Celebs speak up in Scottish independence...

Tue, 16 Sep, 2014 - (1:29)

Flying a plane using power of the mind Flying a plane using power of the mind

Tue, 16 Sep, 2014 - (1:55)

Philippines breeds its first baby penguin Philippines breeds its first baby penguin

Tue, 16 Sep, 2014 - (1:18)

Nowhere to hide for this horror film Nowhere to hide for this horror film

Mon, 15 Sep, 2014 - (0:48)

Mexico dishes up creepy crawly fare Mexico dishes up creepy crawly fare

Sun, 14 Sep, 2014 - (1:31)

Lion cubs the pride of San Diego Zoo Lion cubs the pride of San Diego Zoo

Sat, 13 Sep, 2014 - (0:46)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)