Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Burning warehouse takes on appearance of an ice sculputre, after firefighters douse the flames

Thursday, January 24, 2013 - 00:46

Jan. 24 - A warehouse in Chicago freezes over after firefighters extinguish a fire in sub zero temperatures. Julie Noce reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Firefighters on the south side of Chicago rushed to the scene of a massive warehouse fire earlier this week... They worked through the night to put out the blaze. But it was so cold, negative 12 degrees Celsius, the water they sprayed onto the building froze, and by morning the warehouse looked like an ice sculpture. Now, the building is at risk of collapsing. (SOUNDBITE) (English) JOHN MCNICHOLAS, DEPUTY FIRE COMMISSIONER SAYING: "It's a matter of safety because obviously on Ashland Avenue, with a building that high, we have the potential for the building to collapse onto Ashland Avenue." The heat from the fire blew out the windows of an advertising firm next door. Officials are still investigating the cause of the fire-- the biggest in the city in the past seven years.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Burning warehouse takes on appearance of an ice sculputre, after firefighters douse the flames

Thursday, January 24, 2013 - 00:46

Top News »

Editors' Picks »

Most Popular »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Oddly Enough »

Ancient baby mammoth on display in Moscow Ancient baby mammoth on display in Moscow

Wed, 29 Oct, 2014 - (1:14)

Snow leopard arrives at Mexico zoo Snow leopard arrives at Mexico zoo

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (0:59)

Horse rescued from swimming pool Horse rescued from swimming pool

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (0:30)

Surfing in a different sort of costume Surfing in a different sort of costume

Mon, 27 Oct, 2014 - (1:10)

Skateboards get rock star makeovers Skateboards get rock star makeovers

Thu, 23 Oct, 2014 - (1:28)

Giant rubber duck on show in Shanghai Giant rubber duck on show in Shanghai

Thu, 23 Oct, 2014 - (1:06)

Black bear cub goes Sunday shopping Black bear cub goes Sunday shopping

Thu, 23 Oct, 2014 - (0:27)

Christie's opens new Shanghai office Christie's opens new Shanghai office

Wed, 22 Oct, 2014 - (1:13)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)